LibKey Nomad
Scholarly Articles
The following are good places to look for political science literature. Tip: Usually, it's helpful to start a search trying out lots of synonyms for your topic. Then, narrow your search using the precise subject headings (i.e. tags) each database uses to sort its articles into categories.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Covers 1975 - present. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in this collection offer comprehensive summaries of the state of research on topics from many disciplines in the sciences and social sciences, including Anthropology, Sociology and Political Science. Covers 1997 - current.
- JSTOR Security Studies
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of security studies. Subcollections on defense spending, military technology, and warfare, for example. Narrow to "research reports" for policy reports.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Use Google's special academic search to locate scholarly articles from across disciplines. On campus, the preferences are set to indicate the Library's full-text access to what you find (links on the right). Use the "cited by" link to see who has cited a particular work you're interested in. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship.
Policy Research
TIP: Also consider using these tools to identify relevant think tanks and organizations and browse or search in those orgs' websites directly.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Find reports on public policy topics from major think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank. Covers 1990-current. - CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and abstracts)
Find scholarship on theory and research in international affairs, including working papers, conference papers, and government reports. 1991 - current.
- Policy ArchiveA growing digital library of policy papers; already at 30,000+.
- Find Policy
- This link opens in a new window
Keyword search across 17 major think tanks on US public policy. Choose topics at top to narrow search to specific think tanks. - Issue LabFrom the Foundation Center. Searches for policy documents across thousands of think tanks and organizations.
Journals
These are some of the core Political Science journals you might find relevant to your search. Keep in mind, however, that this list is simply to get you started and the important journals will vary depending on your topic.
Locate the full text of a journal using the Gould Library A-Z List.
- Foreign Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
