Zotero

Creating Your Bibliography: Straight From Zotero

It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library. Here are three methods.

Option One: Integrating Word and Zotero

Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.

To add a citation:

  1. Place your cursor where you want the citation or footnote to appear
  2. Click the first button on the Word toolbar ("Insert Citation")
  3. In the resulting red box, search for the the reference you want to cite (when you select a reference, you may click on that reference to add page numbers)
  4. Hit the ENTER key to insert the citation into your document.

At the end of your paper, place your cursor where you'd like your bibliography to appear and then click the third button ("Insert Bibliography"). Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the last button on the toolbar.

Option 2: Drag and Drop (Best if you're writing in Google Docs)

You can drag and drop references from Zotero into your document! This works with any word processor including Google Docs. Change the default style under Preferences on the "gear" menu.

  • Drag an item to your document to create a bibliographic entry
  • Hold down the SHIFT key and drag an item to your document to create a citation.

Option 3: Copy and Paste

Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography. Choose the bibliographic style you want, and select the output format: Save as RTF or HTML, copy to clipboard or print. (The RTF file format is compatible with all word processors.)

Librarian

Research/IT Desk's picture
Research/IT Desk

When Carleton librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.

Contact:
507-222-4264
Creative Commons License
Gould Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License unless otherwise noted.