This new collection presents a rich selection of innovative scholarship on the Etruscans, a vibrant, independent people whose distinct civilization flourished in central Italy for most of the first millennium BCE and whose artistic, social and cultural traditions helped shape the ancient Mediterranean, European, and Classical worlds. Includes contributions from an international cast of both established and emerging scholars Offers fresh perspectives on Etruscan art and culture, including analysis of the most up-to-date research and archaeological discoveries Reassesses and evaluates traditional topics like architecture, wall painting, ceramics, and sculpture as well as new ones such as textile archaeology, while also addressing themes that have yet to be thoroughly investigated in the scholarship, such as the obesus etruscus, the function and use of jewelry at different life stages, Greek and Roman topoi about the Etruscans, the Etruscans' reception of ponderation, and more Counters the claim that the Etruscans were culturally inferior to the Greeks and Romans by emphasizing fields where the Etruscans were either technological or artistic pioneers and by reframing similarities in style and iconography as examples of Etruscan agency and reception rather than as a deficit of local creativity

This two-volume Companion to Greek and Roman Historiography reflects the new directions and interpretations that have arisen in the field of ancient historiography in the past few decades. Comprises a series of cutting edge articles written by recognised scholars Presents broad, chronological treatments of important issues in the writing of history and antiquity These are complemented by chapters on individual genres and sub-genres from the fifth century B.C.E. to the fourth century C.E. Provides a series of interpretative readings on the individual historians Contains essays on the neighbouring genres of tragedy, biography, and epic, among others, and their relationship to history

"A Companion to the Latin Language" presents a collection of original essays from international scholars that track the development and use of the Latin language from its origins to its modern day usage.Brings together contributions from internationally renowned classicists, linguists and Latin language specialistsOffers, in a single volume, a detailed account of different literary registers of the Latin languageExplores the social and political contexts of LatinIncludes new accounts of the Latin language in light of modern linguistic theorySupplemented with illustrations covering the development of the Latin alphabet

A Companion to Plutarch offers a broad survey of the famous historian and biographer; a coherent, comprehensive, and elegant presentation of Plutarch's thought and influence   Constitutes the first survey of its kind, a unified and accessible guide that offers a comprehensive discussion of all major aspects of Plutarch's oeuvre Provides essential background information on Plutarch's world, including his own circle of influential friends (Greek and Roman), his travels, his political activity, and his relations with Trajan and other emperors Offers contextualizing background, the literary and cultural details that shed light on some of the fundamental aspects of Plutarch's thought Surveys the ideologically crucial reception of the Greek Classical Period in Plutarch's writings Follows the currents of recent serious scholarship, discussing perennial interests, and delving into topics and works not formerly given serious attention

A Companion to the Archaeology of the Roman Republicoffers a diversity of perspectives to explore how differingapproaches and methodologies can contribute to a greaterunderstanding of the formation of the Roman Republic. Brings together the experiences and ideas of archaeologistsfrom around the world, with multiple backgrounds and areas ofinterest Offers a vibrant exploration of the ways in whicharchaeological methods can be used to explore different elements ofthe Roman Republican period Demonstrates that the Republic was not formed in a vacuum, butwas influenced by non-Latin-speaking cultures from throughout theMediterranean  region Enables archaeological thinking in this area to be madeaccessible both to a more general audience and as a valuableaddition to existing discourse Investigates the archaeology of the Roman Republican periodwith reference to material culture, landscape, technology, identityand empire

A comprehensive treatment of the significant symbols and institutions of Roman religion, this companion places the various religious symbols, discourses, and practices, including Judaism and Christianity, into a larger framework to reveal the sprawling landscape of the Roman religion. An innovative introduction to Roman religion Approaches the field with a focus on the human-figures instead of the gods Analyzes religious changes from the eighth century BC to the fourth century AD Offers the first history of religious motifs on coins and household/everyday utensils Presents Roman religion within its cultural, social, and historical contexts

A Companion to Greek and Roman Sexualities presents a comprehensive collection of original essays relating to aspects of gender and sexuality in the classical world. Views the various practices and discursive contexts of sexuality systematically and holistically Discusses Greece and Rome in each chapter, with sensitivity to the continuities and differences between the two classical civilizations Addresses the classical influence on the understanding of later ages and religion Covers artistic and literary genres, various social environments of sexual conduct, and the technical disciplines of medicine, magic, physiognomy, and dream interpretation Features contributions from more than 40 top international scholars

A Companion to Roman Architecture presents a comprehensive review of the critical issues and approaches that have transformed scholarly understanding in recent decades in one easy-to-reference volume. Offers a cross-disciplinary approach to Roman architecture, spanning technology, history, art, politics, and archaeology Brings together contributions by leading scholars in architectural history An essential guide to recent scholarship, covering new archaeological discoveries, lesser known buildings, new technologies and space and construction Includes extensive, up-to-date bibliography and glossary of key Roman architectural terms