(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text and full-image articles from 15 African-American newspapers spanning the 20th century from their first issue until about 2010. Earliest papers go back to 1893.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across all of Carleton's Readex collections at once. Includes historical newspapers, government documents, books, ephemera, and the like. Too many results? Try just looking in these sub-collections: African American Periodicals & America's Historical Newspapers.

(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search through the full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the U.S by ethnic, minority, and native presses. Covers 1991 - current. Try Ethnic Group: African American/Caribbean/African in Advanced Search

Portal to digital African American history and culture collections online.

Searchable full-text archives of major twentieth-century American magazines. Includes but not limited to: Ebony (1945-2014), Esquire (1933-2014), LIFE (1936-2000), People (1974-2000), Time (1923-2000), and Vanity Fair(1913-33, 1983-2015).

Newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional, and state titles as well as small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across newspapers and digitized collections of primary sources, including many from the 20th century in Archives Unbound, the Archives of Sexuality and Gender, and many more. Covers 1604 - present (varying by source).

Video of oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Contains biographies of thousands of African Americans, 1790 - 1950. Content now included as a part of ProQuest Black Studies.

(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Includes recorded interviews with Carleton faculty, alumni, staff and others covering their individual experiences at Carleton. 1971-2021

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across all of Carleton's Readex collections at once. Includes historical newspapers, government documents, books, ephemera, history of science and artificial intelligence, and the like.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Fully searchable, digitized archival collections having to do with American history. Carleton has collections available in these topic areas: American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Latinx History; Revolutionary War and Early America; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; and Women's Studies. Browse full contents.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive set of declassified government documents, 1942-current.

(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and transcripts)
Aggregates millions of digital items from major libraries and collections across the country, including Carleton College.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students.

(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
A large collections with artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe. Has filters for Open Licenses.

(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Contains texts, sound recordings, still and moving images, maps, and sheet music from the Library of Congress that document American History.
NOTE: The Library of Congress has migrated all collections from the American Memory Project into this new platform.

(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Search all known records of archival photographs, documents, and artifacts at Carleton College Archives, many of which are available in digitized form. Visit the User Guide for help.

(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Includes recorded interviews with Carleton faculty, alumni, staff and others covering their individual experiences at Carleton. 1971-2021