Advanced Search Term Hints
In Catalyst Advanced Search, do SUBJECT (Contains)....
- Ho-Chunk Nation of Wisconsin, Navajo Nation, Santee Indians, Dakota Indians, Lakota Indians, Yankton Sioux Tribe of South Dakota, etc.
- See the list of all federally and state recognized tribes and Nations (as of 2021)
- When searching for Oceti Šakówiŋ, you need to use the term Sioux Nation in library systems
- American Indian Movement
- Indians of North America
- -- Government relations (To 1789; 1789-1869; 1869-1934; 1934-)
- -- Education (Higher)
- Indians, Treatment of -- United States -- History
- Indian mythology
- Land use -- United States -- History
- Native American Church of North America
- Santee Indians / Dakota Indians -- Education
You may also want to try combining these with words like:
- Education, Education (Higher), Biography, Sources, History, Minnesota, Religion, etc.
- Catalyst This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search the collections of Carleton and St. Olaf College libraries.
- Addressing harmful language in Library Catalog (Catalyst)Our library staff is engaged in an ongoing effort to revise the catalog records over which we have editorial control. If you encounter any language that you consider to be harmful or offensive, please use this form to report it.
American Studies
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts) - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship.
Anthropology
Use these disciplinary indexes to literature in the field of anthropology and the broader social sciences as your core search tools. Then use the more specialized indexes in the next section to home in on more focused collections of literature.
- Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Late 19th century to present.
From the Tozzer Library at Harvard, Anthropological Literature is the major index to international periodical articles and essays in the discipline. Use the Find It button to get full text online or in print. - AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains the full-text of the journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Covers 1960 - current. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts) Articles in this collection offer comprehensive summaries of the state of research on topics from many disciplines in the sciences and social sciences. To search the Annual Review of Anthropology, type "Anthropology" in the Published In field, and select the journal title. This will ensure all results come from this publication.
International Bibliography of Anthropology by
Call Number: CC Books GN304 .I593 (newest vol. in Reference)ISBN: 0415262356Publication Date: 1998 - present (annual)Extensive coverage of books and journal articles; annual; no electronic access.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Main index to the discipline of sociology, but covers many core anthropology journals as well. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary search tool. Covers 1973 - current. - Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Available through the Web of Knowledge. Search through current and historical literature in the social sciences, and perform cited reference searching to see who has cite a particular document. Covers 1898 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work.
Educational Studies
- Educational studies databases best bets
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive list of databases for Educational Studies.
- ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The key database for educational-related literature. You may also search ERIC through the free U.S. Department of Education website. 1907 - current. An ELM Database. - ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
An index of top publications in Educational Studies, including some full text. Covers 1988-current. - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Find dissertations and some masters theses from universities in 88 countries. Most documents published since 1997 also include the full text. Covers 1861 - current.
NOTE: For international dissertations and theses not available through this tool, check CRL, and if they have the document you can order it through Interlibrary Loan. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A massive index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work.
History
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts) - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship.
- ALL HISTORY DATABASESIf you aren't seeing a helpful database, try looking at the whole list! You can narrow them down by material type (newspapers, data and statistics, full text journal articles, etc.).
- Reclaiming Native TruthA Project to Dispel America’s Myths and Misconceptions. The Reclaiming Native Truth project conducted an unprecedented research campaign designed to increase our understanding of the dominant narrative about Native peoples in the United States.
Linguistics
Key research tools for linguists
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
The most comprehensive source of scholarly work on Linguistics. All aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Covers 1973 - current. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches through citations, subject headings, and some abstracts
The premier database for linguistics and literary studies, this index includes articles, dissertations, books, book chapters, and more. Covers 1926 - current. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A massive index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work.
- Google Scholar - Cited Reference Searching
- This link opens in a new window
To see who has cited an article or book recently, search for the article or book in Google Scholar. Then click the "Cited by" link under the appropriate result. You can then search within the list of works that cited your original work. Sometimes you will find free PDFs by clicking on the "all x versions" links as well. Learn more! - Linguistics Resources from SILSIL collects and organizes links to linguistics sources on the internet. You can also search these sources.
- Rutgers Optimality ArchiveAn ever-growing collection of research in Optimality Theory and related theories of grammar.
Religion
- Religion databases best bets
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive list of databases for Religion.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Covers 1949 - current. - ProQuest Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad index of all aspects of religious and spiritual studies worldwide. Covers 1968 - present.
