Recommended Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A massive index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current. - INSPEC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of key literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology. Covers 1898 - current. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. - ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowContains full-text articles from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more, with a focus on publications in science and technology fields.
Finding Popular Sources in Library Databases
To find articles from newspapers and magazines, perform a search in SciTech Premium Collection or Academic Search Premier (linked above), then use filters on the left to narrow by source type to magazines/newspapers or by publication to a particular title like:
- Scientific American
- New Scientist
- Science News
You may find that there are better quality versions of the article on the magazine's web site - you might want to try both.
Credible, Science-Focused News Sources
- Science MagazineCovers news from all science disciplines.
- Nature.com Advanced SearchNature distinguishes between research articles and news and other less specialized writing. Use the Article Type filter to narrow.
