International Monetary Fund (IMF)
This can be tricky to use. Paper copies are in the library which are a bit easier to use to get a sense of what is there. Spend some time with the documentation and contact Kristin for assistance.
- IFS: International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Thousands of time series covering more than 200 countries and areas, published by the IMF (International Monetary Fund). Covers 1945 - current. - BOPS: Balance of Payments Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Data query tool)
Search through quarterly and annual time-series data on international economic transactions and international investment position, published by the International Monetary Fund. Covers 1960 - current. - DOTS: Direction of Trade Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes time series of value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, published by the IMF (International Monetary Fund). Covers 1980 - current. - GFS: Government Finance Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes budgetary and extra-budgetary financial operations data for governments. Covers 1980 - present.
OECD
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search OECD datasets and publications descriptions. Includes the Main Economic Indicators.
Federal Reserve Banks
- Fed BOGHistorical financial and monetary data
U.S. Agencies
- Bureau of Economic Analysis
- This link opens in a new window
- BLS: Bureau of Labor Statistics
- This link opens in a new window
- Census Bureau
- This link opens in a new window
- Census Data via IPUMS
- This link opens in a new window
Foreign Central Banks
Collections of Data
- Penn World TablesAn essential source for income, output, inputs and productivity across 182 countries from 1950-2014. Compiled by Robert Feenstra, Robert Inklaar and Marcel Timmer.
- Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes historical financial data dating back to 1265. Includes datasets in 10 topics: Asset Allocation, Commodities, Economic, Equity, Exchange Rates, Fixed Income, Development, Government and Debt, International Trade, and National Accounts. NOTE: You will need to set up a personal account and log in using your Carleton email address in order to access.
- Datasets listed by RFEAmerican Economic Association's incredibly helpful web site.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Individual Researchers
- ShillerHousing, stock market
- RomerFiscal and monetary shocks
- Fama and FrenchStock return factors
- ICRG Researchers' Dataset (International Country Risk Guide) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Political risk assessment data for 147 countries over the period 1984-2012 originally compiled by Steve Knack and Philip Keefer. Related to the IRIS-3 dataset. Published by the PRS Group. - CNTS Data Archive (Cross-National Time Series) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From Arthur Banks's research, CNTS offers statistical data for over 200 indicators, and time series data in some cases going back as far as 1815, for over 200 countries. Variables include government expenditure, trade, infrastructure and media, domestic conflict event data, elections, legislative process, numerous political measures and international status indicators. 1815 - current.
