Declassified and digitized documents from the State Department.

Includes definitions, threat levels, and other reports.

Publications from the Dept of Homeland Security on threats and prevention.

The National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS) is designed to communicate information about terrorist threats by providing timely, detailed information to the American public.

Compiled by the Federation of American Scientists

Country Reports on Terrorism is submitted in compliance with Title 22 of the United States Code, Section 2656f (the “Act”), which requires the Department of State to provide to Congress a full and complete annual report on terrorism for those countries and groups meeting the criteria of the Act.

In 2007, researcher Larry Minear published, through Tufts University's Feinstein International Center, a study of the National Guard’s role in the conflicts in Afghanistan and Iraq. Minear found abundant source material for his study in the collections of the Veterans History Project, drawing on dozens of interviews with Guard personnel and active duty soldiers and on their photographs.

Archival materials and government documents related to Bush's role in the GWOT.

Compiled by Federation of American Scientists

GTI is a composite measure made up of four indicators: incidents, fatalities, injuries and property damage. To measure the impact of terrorism, a five year weighted average is applied.

he Drone Wars database aggregates information that has been collected by the Bureau of Investigative Journalism on United States drone strikes in Afghanistan, Pakistan, Somalia, and Yemen.

from the Combined Arms Research Library - "A project of the Combat Studies Institute, the Operational Leadership Experiences Interview Collection archives firsthand, multi-service accounts from military personnel who planned, participated in and supported operations in the Global War on Terrorism." 67 interviews include the tag/subject heading

Trove of documents produced by the Special Inspector General for Afghanistan Reconstruction retrieved through FOIA requests revealing missteps and miscalculations during the War in Afghanistan.

The U.S. government has prosecuted 975 people for terrorism since the 9/11 attacks. Most of them never even got close to committing an act of violence.

"The promise was a war waged by all-seeing drones and precision bombs. The documents show flawed intelligence, faulty targeting, years of civilian deaths — and scant accountability."

From the CIA FOIA Library.

“The Torture Archive, an online repository of more than 16,000 documents, chronicles United States government policy on the detention and interrogation of individuals in the “global war on terror” since September 11, 2001.”

In thousands of pages of documents dating from 2002 to 2008 and never seen before by members of the public or the media, the cases of the majority of the prisoners held at Guantánamo — 765 out of 779 in total — are described in detail in memoranda from JTF-GTMO, the Joint Task Force at Guantánamo Bay, to US Southern Command in Miami, Florida.

Cables and other documents from the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Includes "Cablegate," a collection of over 250,000 cables sent between 2003-2010.

Provides an easy way to search through the Iraq and Afghan War Diaries, which were made public by Wikileaks on 22nd October 2010. The documents are a set of over 391,000 reports which cover the war in Iraq from 2004 to 2009 and Afghanistan from 2004 to 2009.