Databases
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Covers 1975 - present. - CQ Politics in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A guide to politics with information on each member of Congress and the district he or she represents. Note: You can also search across all of the CQ Press reference resources here. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Traditional legal materials (reported cases, statutes, government regulations, academic law reviews, commercially produced law journals and magazines, and classic treatises), historical, governmental, and political documents, legislative debates, legislative and executive branch reports, world constitutions, international treaties, military history, and reports and other documents of international organizations. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the Congressional Quarterly's research reports, 1923 - current. Note: You can also search across all of the CQ Press reference resources here. - CQ Political Reference Suite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across an entire suite of reference sources on politics and political science. - Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Find reports on public policy topics from major think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank. Covers 1990-current.
News and Current Affairs
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). - ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database. - CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access issues of CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly), which covers congressional news, reports on upcoming topics, and floor votes. Covers 1983 - current. Note: You can also search across all of the CQ Press reference resources here.
- Politico - CongressCongressional news, analysis, and opinion from Politico. Use the Advanced Search to select other topics by browsing the "publications."
- Washington Post (washingtonpost.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to current Washington Post content going back to 2004, including access to the WaPo app. Archives searchable back through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Click "more..." below for app signup instructions... - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of major business publications as well as other newspapers and magazines. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
Elections
- CQ Vital Statistics on American Politics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
The complete, authoritative, data-rich resource on the full-spectrum of U.S. politics. Note: You can also search across all of the CQ Press reference resources here. - CQ Politics in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A guide to politics with information on each member of Congress and the district he or she represents. Note: You can also search across all of the CQ Press reference resources here.
- American Presidency Project - Elections & TransitionsContains over 20,000 documents related to presidential campaign documents, speeches, party platforms, and transition documents.
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of data and analyses of US elections, including data on presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections, political parties, campaigns, and demographic information. Covers presidential election results from 1789 and forward. Note: You can also search across all of the CQ Press reference resources here.
- Atlas of U.S. Presidential ElectionsDisplays election, poll, and predicion information in geographical format.
- A New Nation VotesElections data by state from 1789 - 1825, culled from contemporary newspapers and original election ballots. Includes both Federal and local election information.
Money and Influence
- Open SecretsFrom the Center for Responsive Politics, this site allows you to track campaign contributions from many different angles.
- Follow the MoneyNonpartisan tracking of political contributions at the state level.
- Project Vote SmartA whole wealth of information, about the candidates (bios, voting records, interest group ratings and more), about voter registration, and links to other political resources.
- LobbyViewA comprehensive database of money in politics, describing the universe of U.S. federal lobbying and campaign donations from 1999 to the present at the level of firms, politicians, and individual donors.
