Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.
Asian Studies, Languages and Literatures
Great source of information for Asian languages and literatures, and Asian Studies (East Asian Studies and South Asian Studies)
Handian is an education and information website with rich and useful content for a wide audience. Founded in 2004, Chinese Dictionary is a free online dictionary with a huge capacity of characters, words, phrases, idioms and other Chinese language forms. The purpose of Han Dian is to introduce Chinese culture, history and language, to provide explanations and services for those who are interested in Chinese learning and research, and to explore the norms and standards for the use of Chinese language and characters.
This is an online version of the Xinhua Dictionary, a major reference of Mandarin Chinese. Users are able to search through Pinyin (the phonetic romanization) or the capitals for the character. Note that at the bottom of the pages, more online tools are available, such as antonym, synonym, idiom, Chinese-Pinyin converter, and Simplified Chinese-Traditional Chinese converter.
Once you install the lingro Firefox extension, instant translations will be available on every page you view. You'll also be able to type in words to look up in the search-as-you-type dictionary on the included toolbar.
This dictionary lets you search for names of people, places, products and companies from the dictionary file. Input is auto detected, but when inputting romanized complete names (family + given name) the entry should have space between the family and given name.
A dictionary-database of research in East Asian pre-modern texts, from Zhou dynasty materials to nineteenth-century writings in China, Korea and Japan, including information on Chinese terminology derived from Confucianism, Daoism, secular literature, poetry, and historical works.
This authoritative dictionary compiled by the National Institute of the Korean Language not only offers a Korean-Korean dictionary, but also abundant entries of idioms, proverbs, dialects, North Koreans, and indigenous Korean language.