How to place an ILL request
- InterLibrary Loan (ILL)InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Carleton students, staff, and faculty to request items that Carleton and St. Olaf do not own from other libraries. NOTE: Items can take from 2 days to 2 weeks to arrive.
Catalyst: Carleton's online catalog
Advanced Search
- Catalyst This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search the collections of Carleton and St. Olaf College libraries.
There are many ways to locate books that are relevant to your research topic:
- Search for books by doing a simple KEYWORD search in Catalyst (in the search box above). Enter words that describe your topic (names, places, events, etc.).
- When you find a book on your topic, examine its subject headings for relevance to your topic. Click on a hyperlinked subject heading to perform a subject heading search.
- Conduct a virtual browse at the very bottom of a book record in Catalyst, to discover related titles.
- You can also look at the bibliography of books you have already identified as useful.
- You can also use the advanced search box below to search by subject.
Asian studies: journal articles
- BAS: Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Includes scholarship (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. 1971-current. The reference section of the library also has BAS from 1960-1990 in physical form (ref DS 501 B49 1960) - MECAS: Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
An index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. Covers 1900 - current. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship.
- Asian Studies databases best bets
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive list of databases for Asian studies. - Journals of Himalayan Studies
- This link opens in a new window
A list of core journals on Himalyan Studies by Digital Himalaya.
Non-English Scholarly Collections
- China Research Gateway This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A centralized means for discovery and access to Chinese resources, including scholarly journals, books, statistical publications, government documents, newspapers, reference material and dictionaries, dissertations, patents, and more. - China Academic Journals 中國學術期刊 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
China Academic Journals and Century Journal Project of CNKI provides full text and full images of Chinese-language journals.
Multi-lingual collections beyond Carleton
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students. - CRL: Center For Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
This collection includes microfilm for foreign newspapers and foreign dissertations. You may borrow microfilm reels and other materials through Interlibrary Loan. - WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Search for library materials, especially books, that Carleton may not have. You can include searches for articles if desired. When you find something you want, order it through ILL by clicking on the "Request item through InterLibrary Loan" link.
Major Libraries in East Asia
A non-exhaustive list of library catalogs from research libraries across East Asia. Most of these will NOT provide full text, but will help you find citations to materials to look up in Catalyst.
- Airiti Library - Huayi Online LibraryLibrary Catalog from Taiwan. Integrates academic resources from Taiwan and Mainland China. Can be used for article indexing information (journals, conferences, dissertations), and some open access full text downloads. Formerly known as TEPS: Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services 臺灣電子期刊服務網.
- Korean History & Culture Research Database (한국역사문화 조사자료 데이터베이스) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of excavation reports, research reports about geography, history, ethnic customs and architecture.
