Jazz Reference Sources
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This key reference collection includes Grove Music Online, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Also includes entries from The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz and The Grove Dictionary of American Music.
- AllMusicIncludes information about albums, artists, cover art, descriptions of the artists or pieces, relational information about the connections between artist and music, as well as editorial content by AMG's staff and freelance writers.
Linked Jazz
- Linked JazzLinked Jazz is an ongoing project investigating the potential of the application of Linked Open Data (LOD) technology to enhance the discovery and visibility of digital cultural heritage materials. More specifically, the project focuses on digital archives of jazz history to expose relationships between musicians and reveal their community’s network.
Librarian
LibKey Nomad
Online Resources
- RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade, and popular publications on jazz. Covers 1914-2006.
- The Black Music History Library
This link opens in a new window
A living collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day.
Discographies
- Jazz Discography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
A discography of all categories of recorded jazz, from 1896 to 2003. It provides a detailed listing of recording sessions, including musicians and their instruments, tune names, and much more.
All Music Guide to Jazz by Call Number: Ref ML156.4.J3 A45 2002ISBN: 087930717XPublication Date: 2002A survey of important and popular jazz recordings. PLEASE NOTE: This most recent print edition is from 2002; some information may be out of date. Older editions of this book are also available in the library.
The Penguin Guide to Jazz Recordings by Call Number: Ref ML156.4.J3 C67 2006ISBN: 9780141023274Publication Date: 2006-11-28A survey of important and popular jazz recordings. PLEASE NOTE: This edition is from 2006; some information may be out of date. Older editions of this book are also available in the library.
The Blackwell Guide to Recorded Jazz by Call Number: Ref ML156.4.J3 B66 1995ISBN: 0631195521Publication Date: 1996-01-17A survey of important and popular jazz recordings. PLEASE NOTE: This most recent print edition is from 1995; some information may be out of date.
- JazzStandards.com
- This link opens in a new window
This website is dedicated to the preservation of information for the musical compositions known as Jazz Standards. It allows you to search for songs, instrumentalists, and composers.
Using the Jazz Discography
The Jazz Discography isn't very intuitive to use.
Here's a handy guide for you (and you can scroll down to download a PDF of the guide for yourself).
---
