Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.
Enter search terms and limit by "Material Type: Audio" to see physical and online sound recordings available in Carleton's Gould Library Music Resource Center and in St. Olaf's Halvorson Music Library.
(Searches through citation information)
An online collection of recordings, mostly Western art music. Each piece includes notes on the work and biographical information about the composers and artists.
On this site you will have the opportunity to find out more about the cylinder format, listen to over 6,000 recordings of musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and discover a little-known era of recorded sound.
Audio recordings from the digital collections of the Library of Congress. These collections contain musical selections ranging from the beginnings of American recorded sound up through the mid-Twentieth Century including folk, jazz, big band, blues, gospel music, and more.
Includes thousands of recordings from the collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment.
To find reviews of recordings, type the name of the recording into the search box and select "PS Recordings & Reviews" from the dropdown box next to your search terms. Alternatively, search by subject or keyword and select "Product Review" from the "Document Type" box in the "limit your results" area of the main search screen.
This allows you to search the titles and descriptions of popular magazines as far back as 1890. Keep your keywords pretty general (as this was not designed specifically for music research) and include the keyword "review." Then use the Find It button to gain access to the articles themselves.
Published by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale, RILM includes coverage of historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. Note that all the works in this database are about music, so there is usually no need to use the term "Music" as a search term.