(Searches through citations and the full text)
An archival collection of magazines related to the history of the film, music, and entertainment industries, 1880 - 2015.

Articles on rock and popular music collected from hundreds of magazines, newspapers, and websites.

(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text and full-image articles for major newspapers from the United States (including Historical Black Newspapers); plus ABC (Spain), Le Monde, the Jerusalem Post (formerly the Palestine Post), The Korea Times, London Evening Standard‎, South China Morning Post, and the Times of India. Each paper is available from its first issue through about 2013 (depending on the paper). Earliest papers start in 1827.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text and full-image articles from 15 African-American newspapers spanning the 20th century from their first issue until about 2010. Earliest papers go back to 1893.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Contains the full text of nearly 300 African-American newspapers from 35 states printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Covers 1827 - 1998.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Contains the full text of over 170 African-American periodicals from 26 states printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Covers 1825 - 1995.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes full text of English-language and Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries, 1808 - 1980.

Popular and trade publications from 1890-1982.

A bibliography of works about the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. There are quite a few subject terms that include the word "Music," so try putting that into a search box and selecting "SU Subject" from the drop-down box that says "select a field."

Like America: History and Life above, but covers everything but the U.S. and Canada.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive collection of scholarship that focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Contains scholarly articles, reference works, primary sources, timelines, biographies, images, maps, charts and tables, and film clips, among many other things.

Includes hundreds of full text journals from all of the humanities. This databases is particularly useful for popular and contemporary music research.

(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Main index to research in sociology, anthropology, and related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963 - current.

Full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas. Its collection of newspaper and magazine articles adds to its emphasis on scholarly works to give a rounded view of your topic.

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary journals. This is one of the best places to start when looking for scholarly work, especially when your topic incorporates the themes of multiple disciplines (such as music, history, sociology, and the like).