Librarian
LibKey Nomad
Finding Books and Articles
- ABSEEES: American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union from journals, books, dissertations, and more. Subjects include: anthropology, culture and the arts, economics, education, and geography. Covers 1939 - current. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches through citations, subject headings, and some abstracts
The premier database for linguistics and literary studies, this index includes articles, dissertations, books, book chapters, and more. Covers 1926 - current. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The primary place to find scholarship on world history.
News Sources
- East View This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Our primary access to Cyrillic news sources. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News in English and Russian (including Cyrillic).
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications. - Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News in ENGLISH.
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources. - FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News in ENGLISH.
Translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from around the globe, 1941 - 1996. - World News Connection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News in ENGLISH.
Translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources from around the world. Covers 1995 - current. - CRL: Center For Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
This collection includes microfilm for foreign newspapers and foreign dissertations. You may borrow microfilm reels and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.
- Historical Russian NewspapersCourtesy of Ernest Zitser, Slavic Librarian, Duke University. Some require DjVU plugin to view.
- Russian and Slavic Studies resources - NewspapersNYU's list of online newspapers
Reference Sources
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Searches the indexes of our library's print reference books. When you find an entry you'd like to read, click the "Locate this book" button or put the title of the reference book into Catalyst to find the book's location in the Reference Collection. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across all of Carleton's online reference sources from Oxford University Press, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, timelines, and quotations.
Finding Dissertations
While not considered formally published, dissertations can provide a lot of really useful information. They are especially useful as pointing tools, since their literature reviews and bibliographies are usually very rich sources of information.
I also list them separately here because the FindIt button doesn't work well to link you to the full text of dissertations, so if you come across one in a research database it's best to bring the citation information directly to one of these specialized collections of dissertations in order to find the full text.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find dissertations and some masters theses from universities in 88 countries. Most documents published since 1997 also include the full text. Covers 1861 - current.
- EThOS: online doctoral theses from the British LibraryEThOS is working toward a goal of having records for all doctoral theses from the UK dating back to 1800, and full text for as many of these as can be managed.
- CRL: Center For Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
This collection includes microfilm for foreign newspapers and foreign dissertations. You may borrow microfilm reels and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.
