Most Important Indexes to the Literature
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Key index to economics journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers. Content includes both economic theory and application. Covers 1969 - current. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A massive index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago.
Important Journals
The following are importanat journals in Environmental Economics and are worth browsing for articles and ideas.
- Review of Environmental Economics and PolicyCarleton does not subscribe to this journal, so you'll need to request copies via ILL.
- Australian Journal of Agricultural and Resource EconomicsMost recent year not available. Use ILL to request articles.
- Environment and Development EconomicsMost recent year not available. Use ILL to request articles.
- Journal of Agricultural and Resource EconomicsCarleton does not subscribe to this journal, so you'll need to request copies via ILL.
- Natural Resources JournalCarleton subscribes in paper and online.
New Palgrave
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by Call Number: CC Reference HB61 .N49 2008 v.1-8 (newer edition online)Publication Date: 2018Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Synoptic, signed articles and bibliographies provide information on methods, models, theories, schools, and prominent figures in economics.
EconLit Tips
EconLit is the main index to Economics journal literature and is created by the American Economic Association. A search in this database of citations allows you to search across the contents of 100s of journals at once.
Guidance for searching EconLit
Tips for making the most of your search in this key index of Economic scholarly literature.
Some of the JEL subject descriptors of particular use to this seminar are:
- C-Mathematical and Quantitative Methods
- H-Public Economics
- K-Law and Economics
- O-Economic Development
- Q-Environmental and Ecological Economics
Remember that both searching and browsing are worthwhile strategies. Spend some time with keywords and some time browsing the contents of specific journals or articles assigned specific subject headings.
Interpreting "Find It" Results (2022)
Scholarly journals are going to be found, in most cases, either online or in print.
Searching Catalyst and using the Find It button are the best ways to determine what kind of subscription the library has and how to get your hands (or eyes, as the case may be) on it.
Following are explanations of the different results you'll get using the Find It button.
Instant Electronic Access
When you click the "Find It!" button, you will be taken to a record for the article in Catalyst. That record will tell you whether this is available electronically, in print, both, or neither. If it is available, you will see a message "Online Access" near the top of the page.
Click the Online Access button and you should be taken straight to the article.
If it doesn't work or you want to find other options, scroll down to see the electronic options for that article...
Follow a link and you'll be taken to the article.
Print Journals
If the library subscribes in print, you need to find the call number for the journal in Catalyst. Then go to the moving stacks on the 3rd floor of the library where the journals are. Catalyst shows the call number so you know where to find it on 3rd Libe.
If the print copy is only at St. Olaf, log in to Catalyst, then click the St. Olaf Library entry to expand it. Find the issue you need, then click the Request link to have the journal sent over to Carleton, where you can pick it up at the Circulation Desk.
Carleton Doesn't Subscribe
If Carleton doesn't subscribe to the journal for the issue you need, make a request through Interlibrary Loan.
Subject Guide
Contact reference@carleton.edu
