Where to Start
Take cues from the literature you already have for possible data sources. Early on, search the following resources, which will either lead you directly to data or will give you vital information about who collects the type of data you need.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search across 1000s of statistical publications from 100s of sources. This comprehensive database includes the three major statistical indexes (American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, and Index to International Statistics). - Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This compendia of statistics contains basic tables summarizing the vast amount of data collected by the U.S. government. Find a table here that is related to your topic and follow the cited source to identify which agency collects the data you need. - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal integrating data and facts from multiple sources onto a single platform, categorized into over 20 market sectors. Stronger on market statistics than the others listed here.
- Gould Library Data GuideGeneral strategies for data searching, management, data across many disciplines.
Noting Data Sources in the Literature
At the very first stages of your literature review, start taking notes on potential data sources. Make a habit of jotting down the data used in each study you read to make it faster when you come back later in your search for data. Also, this practice can help you see and articulate how your contribution is unique. You might want to keep these notes in a table like the following for easy reference.
| Author(s) and Year of Publication | Claim | Data | Dependent Variable/Estimation Technique | Significant Findings |
|
|
For an editable table like the one above, open this spreadsheet, save a copy for yourself, then use it to track your literature.
- Data Reference Worksheet (PDF version)A worksheet for brainstorming places to look for data.
- Data Reference Worksheet (Google Doc Version)Make your own copy of this worksheet to fill out and keep in Google Drive.
- Example: Comparing Data SourcesFrom a published paper in economics where the author summarizes previous work in a table like this one.
- See more Data Search Strategies (Data, Datasets, & Statistics Guide)Find tips on searching at the variable level, finding replication datasets, and more.
Data Archives and Data Catalogs
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A repository of social science datasets for secondary research. Members of the Carleton community may search the catalog, read data documentation and download datasets after creating a personal "MyData" account with their Carleton email address. - UK Data Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A premier data collection of datasets from the United Kingdom and beyond. Carleton does not have access to much of this data, but it is a great place to search for international data sources. Consult with a librarian about access. - Dataverse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Search across the data collections of over 200 institutions, researchers, research centers and collections. Click the 'i' for more information and watch the format listed to determine whether the data are "raw" or not.
- Data and Program Library Service
- This link opens in a new window
This data library at the University of Wisconsin-Madison has a searchable catalog of data as well as a browsable archive of locally collected data.
See also
Data on the Net (below) for links to data libraries and archives that can be searched on the web.
Sites with Research Articles and Data
Search these portals to search across many sites at once. Items are usually selected for inclusion based on their relevance and quality.
- Data on the Net
- This link opens in a new window
From the University of California, San Diego's searchable listing of 850 Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more. - Economic Data Sources from the Data and Program Library ServiceAn annotated list of links to data-related web sites. Go to the main Internet Crossroads page and search all 720 annotated links.
- Economic Growth ResourcesList of growth data sets available online.
- RFE - Resources for EconomistsA great place to begin; comprehensive.
Subject Guide
Social Science Librarian
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 466
Contact reference@carleton.edu
Contact reference@carleton.edu
