Librarian
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
LibKey Nomad
Databases & Indexes
Use databases and indexes to locate articles and book chapters on your topic.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the online version of Psychological Abstracts. It covers more than 1,700 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications. For nearly 300 of these publications, full text articles date from 1992 forward, full image articles from 1987 forward, and articles with text and graphics from 1995 forward. Abstracts date from 1887 to the present. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. This is a great place to start your research, especially in interdisciplinary studies such as Cognitive Science. The Web of Science includes the citation information, allowing you to run citation searches. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual reviews are great places to find literature reviews on particular topics. The database searches all of the Annual Review titles, and we have full text access to Annual Review of Psychology, among others. - ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Contains ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings, all in full text. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source of scholarly work on Linguistics. - Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers published scholarly research in fifteen areas of philosophy. Cited articles come from over 480 journals printed in 38 countries.
Journals
- Annual Review of PsychologyOnline access (1997-present): click on the journal name
In print: General collection (1950 - current): BF30 .A56
Once each year this periodical reviews recent scholarly research on a few chosen topics. Each article includes an extensive bibliography. - Applied Cognitive PsychologyOnline access (1987-one year ago), click on journal name
In print: Main Periodicals (1996-2010)
This journal publishes empirical research from a wide range of theoretical perspectives on memory, learning, thinking, problem solving, language, and consciousness. - CognitionOnline access (1995-present), click on journal name
In print: Main Periodicals (1974-2006)
Cognition features research papers, experimental reports, reviews, and discussions in the field of cognition. - Cognitive PsychologyOnline access (1995-present), click on journal name
In print: Main Periodicals (1970-2006)
Cognitive Psychology publishes original empirical, theoretical, and tutorial papers; methodological articles; and critical reviews in the study of memory, language processing, perception, problem solving, and thinking. - Cognitive ScienceIn print: Main Periodicals (1977-2013)
Cognitive Science features articles on topics such as knowledge representation, inference, memory processes, learning, problem solving, planning, perception, natural language, motor control, and intentional systems. - Journal Of Experimental Psychology: Learning Memory And CognitionOnline access (1975-present), click on journal name
In print: Main Periodicals (1982-2012)
This bimonthly journal publishes original experimental studies concerning cognition, learning, memory, imagery, concept formation, problem solving, decision making, thinking, reading, and language processing. It was called Journal Of Experimental Psychology: Human Learning And Memory for the years 1975-1981. - Memory & CognitionOnline access (1997-present), click on journal name
In print: Main Periodicals (1973-2012)
Memory & Cognition features articles on topics such as memory and learning, conceptual processes, psycholinguistics, problem solving, thinking, decision making, and skilled performance. - Social CognitionOnline access (1997-two years ago), click on journal name
In print: Main Periodicals (1993-present)
Research, conceptual analyses, and critical reviews that focus on cognition as it relates to personality, social development, and social behavior.
How to get the full-text of an article
Some library databases give you only the citation and abstract of the article. So if you've found a perfect article, how do you get to the full text? The truth is, the full text can be in different locations, so follow these steps to get to find the article. (details for each step are below)
1. Make sure what you're looking for is an article.
2. Look for any direct links to the article.
3. Use the Find It! button
4. Check Google Scholar
5. Request the article from Interlibrary Loan
_______________________________________________________________________
1. Is the source an article?
Before you spend too much time trying to find an article, make sure it's an article, not a book, a book chapter, or some other source. Most databases will give you that information. If what you're looking for is in a book, search for the title of that book (not the book chapter) in Catalyst.
If we don't have the book, search for it on WorldCat and request the book via ILL from there.
2. Check for direct links to full text
If there is a link to the full text from the database, click it! It will say PDF Full Text, HTML Full Text, Linked Full Text, or something similar.
3. Use the Find It! button
The "Find It" button
searches Carleton and St. Olaf libraries to see if we have the article and if so, how to access it.
If there is online access, click the title of the database to get to the full text.
[visual description: screen shot of the Catalyst screen showing a link to online access of an article. Click the link after "Full text available from..."]
If it's in print, click on the Physical Copies tab and write down the call number so you can find the journal. Journals are shelved on the 3rd floor of the library.
If the journal is in print at St. Olaf, click the link for the St. Olaf Print Periodicals. You'll need to log in to Catalyst first, and then request the journal.
[visual description: screen shot showing the "Sign in for request options" link]
If we don't have access to the journal, move on to the next steps:
4. Check Google Scholar
Google Scholar indexes scholarly content on the Internet, including content that may be available for free. Search for the title of the article in quotes.
If there is free access, it will be linked on the right side next to the results by clicking on Carleton Full Text as shown below.
NOTE: Google Scholar will also point you to the publisher's site, which will ask you for money to purchase the article if the library doesn't have a subscription to that journal. Order the article through ILL instead (see step 5).
5. Request from InterLibrary Loan
Request articles we don't have through InterLibrary Loan. Articles will be scanned and sent to you as a pdf, and typically arrive in 2-3 days, but can take longer.
Click "Request Document via ILLiad" from the Catalyst page (see above). Log in with your Carleton username and password, and the form will be filled out for the article.
You can also submit a request manually through ILLiad.
