Skip to Main Content

Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

Economics

Resources, tips, tools and data sources for economics research at Carleton

Catalyst

All Formats

Economics Reference

All Formats

Example: carbon tax
Example: veblen

After you perform the search, use the options on the left-hand menu of the result list to limit the "Collection" to Carleton College Reference.

General Research Information

Use this link for help on how to do general research at Carleton, including:

  • Catalyst searches
  • subject headings
  • print reference collection
  • indexes and electronic databases
  • web searches
  • citing

If you ever have questions, stop by the Research/IT desk in the library, or contact Kristin Partlo via email, AIM, phone, or just drop by.

Reference Collection

Use these sources early in your research process to get an overview of a topic or to identify synonyms or related terms that will apply to your topic. Later, return to these sources to clarify concepts or define new vocabulary. These sources also include bibliographical references that may prove helpful. All of these sources are located in the Reference Collection.

Library of Congress call numbers to browse in the print reference collection or in the general collection for Economics:

H-HL.....Economics
HA.........General Statistical Reources
HC.........Economic Policy and Conditions
HD.........Labor
HG.........Business and Finance

This is only a partial list of the call numbers pertaining to Economics. For a complete listing, go to the Library of Congress Classification Outline, provided by the Cataloging Policy and Support Office of the Library of Congress.

Selected titles from the print reference collection

The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics.
ref HB61 .N49 1987
Palgrave's, which covers contemporary and historical economic thought, usually presents several viewpoints on each topic.

World Development Report.
ref HC 59.7 .W659
Annual volumes focus on a specific topic.

World Development Indicators.
ref HC 59.15 .W56
Annual volumes focusing on international development statistics. Also available online!

Encyclopedia of American Economic History.
ref folio HC103 .E52
Seventy-two essays divided by broad categories; includes essays by time period.

International Financial Statistics Yearbook, 1979 to date.
ref HG 3881 .I626
Data covering banking and finance: prices, production, labor, international transactions, government finance and accounts for countries of the world. Also available online.

The Europa Yearbooks.  Also available online!
Dubuque, IA: Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co.
Current year shelved in Reference. Excellent current information on countries. Volumes covering areas have more detailed information but may not be as current. Entries include overviews by topic followed by some statistical tables and other information dealing with the country.

The Europa World Yearbook, 1959 - to date.
Ref JN 1 .E85

Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States,1992 to date.
Ref HC 244 .A1 E29

Africa South of the Sahara, 1971 to date.
Ref DT 351 .A37

The Far East and Australasia, 1969 to date.
Ref DS 1 .F3

The Middle East and North Africa, 1967/68 to date.
Ref DS 49 .M5

South America, Central America and the Caribbean, 1986 to date.
Ref F 1406.5 .S68