Data Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Subjects: General Reference
LibKey Nomad
Demography Journals
- American DemographicsAimed at marketers, planners and business leaders. Ceased in 2004, incorporated into Advertising Age.
- DemographyQuarterly journal of the Population Association of America
- Demographic ResearchFree, expedited, and online publishing forum for peer-reviewed research and commentary in the population sciences from the Max Planck Institute
- European Journal of PopulationReports and analyzes demographic experiences, including theoretical explanations, research strategies and policy implications.
- GenusInternational journal devoted to various aspects of demography: demographical analysis, historical demography, economic demography, social demography, theory of population policy.
- International MigrationCovers current migration issues as analyzed by demographers, economists and sociologists all over the world. Associated with the International Organization for Migration
- Journal of Population ResearchPeer-reviewed, international journal which publishes papers on demography and population-related issues. Publishes substantive empirical analyses, theoretical works, applied research and contributions to methodology.
- Population (English)Original studies in the field of demography and the related disciplines of sociology, economics, anthropology, history, geography, public health, etc.
- Population and Development ReviewInterdisciplinary journal of population studies, research on the interrelationships between population and socioeconomic change, and related thinking on public policy.
- Population BulletinQuarterly journal of the Population Reference Bureau
- Population Research and Policy ReviewPromotes the use of empirical research in the analysis and formulation of public policy relevant to demographic issues.
- Population ReviewInternational peer-reviewed journal of social demography, publishing articles from the fields of sociology, demography, political science, social anthropology, communication, and socio-environmental science.
- Population StudiesCovers the field of demography: population movements, the effectiveness of birth control programs, fertility and economic and social implications of demographic trends.
- Population TrendsQuarterly journal of population and demographic information from the UK Office for National Statistics
Indexes to Search Journals
Bibliographic indexes and abstracts give you an organized entry into the literature, allowing you to search across the articles in multiple journals at once.
Demography Indexes
- Population Index(open access)
Population Index is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scroll down and check the box next to Population Studies to limit your search. Remember that JSTOR does not contain the most recent 3-5 years of titles. Key journals: Demography, Family Planning Perspectives, International Family Planning Perspectives, International Migration Review, Population: An English Selection, Population and Development Review, Population Index, Population Studies, Studies in Family Planning - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Carleton only)
Broad index to scholarly literature, great for interdisciplinary topics. The only index that lets you search broadly for articles that cite a given work or dataset.
Broader Indexes
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database. - MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some abstracts)
The definitive place to find literature on all aspects of medical research, including clinical practice, administration, and policy. Covers 1950 - current. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Main index to research in sociology, anthropology, and related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963 - current. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary search tool. Covers 1973 - current. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Use Google's special academic search to locate scholarly articles from across disciplines. On campus, the preferences are set to indicate the Library's full-text access to what you find (links on the right). Use the "cited by" link to see who has cited a particular work you're interested in.
Forced Migration Journals
The Forced Migration Online Digital Library provides a repository of forced migration research, documents and unpublished literature. A search there covers the issues of most of these journals up to 3-5 years ago.
- Asian and Pacific Migration Journal
- Asian Migrant
- Disasters
- Forced Migration ReviewCarleton does not subscribe -- order articles through ILL. You can search this journal on its web site (linked here) or in the library database Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
- International Journal Of Refugee Law
- International MigrationCovers current migration issues as analyzed by demographers, economists and sociologists all over the world. Associated with the International Organization for Migration
- Journal Of Refugee Studies
- Journal of Migration and Refugee Issues
- Refugee Survey QuarterlyCarleton does not subscribe -- order articles through ILL. You can search this journal on its web site (linked here) or in the library database Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
