COVID-19 Update: Although the Gould Library building remains closed, the library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.
Comparative Political Data
Comprehensive directory to datasets and sources commonly used by political science students.
From Arthur S. Banks, to quantify variables covered in Stateman's Yearbook. Over 200 indicators spanning 200 countries, some dating to 1815. Variables cover trade, conflict, infrastructure, expenditure, more.
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes time series of value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, published by the IMF (International Monetary Fund). Covers 1980 - current.
Includes historical financial data dating back to 1265. Includes datasets in 10 topics: Asset Allocation, Commodities, Economic, Equity, Exchange Rates, Fixed Income, Development, Government and Debt, International Trade, and National Accounts. NOTE: You will need to set up a personal account and log in using your Carleton email address in order to access.
Statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Covers 1960 - present.
Note: For data documentation, see the print reference book: World Development Indicators, at call number Ref HC 59.15 .W656.