Strategy
For treaties prior to 1950, look in Bevans. For treaties from 1950-present, refer to Treaties in Force. If the treaty is not yet published, check the Treaties Affairs website. For treaties to which the U.S. is not a party, refer to the suggestions below.
Top Resources
Treaties in Force (TIF)
An official government publication which provides an index to treaties currently in force to which the U.S. is a party.
Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949 (Bevans)
CC Gov Docs S 9.12/2 v.1-13
The definitive publication of treaties to which the U.S. was a party from 1776-1949. Volume 13 provides an index by subject and country. Often called Bevans after its author, Charles Bevans.
- World Treaty Index at the University of MichiganMerges several well-known treaty indexes and aims to cover all 20th-century treaty agreements.
- Treaties and Other International Agreements (TIAS)First official publication of text of treaties and agreements (slip form); lag time of about 8-9 years before publication.
- United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST)Call Number: Gov Docs S 9.12Availability and more information from Catalyst...
The official texts for U.S. treaties (following publication in TIAS). Lag time of about 10-20 years. At Carleton, these are published in Lexis Nexis Academic.
Other places to look for treaties
Senate Executive Reports
The report from the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations on whether or not the treaty should be ratified. Includes the treaty text. Available at
- GPO Access (1995 forward)
- ProQuest Congressional indexes from 1970 forward).
Senate Treaty Documents
These are the text of treaties sent by the Senate to the President for ratification. Access these through links below.
- GPO Access (1995 forward)
- Senate website (1975 forward).
- ProQuest Congressional indexes these from 1970 forward.
Treaty Affairs
Access treaties recently received by Congress and links to other official treaty sources.
Call the Office of the Legal Advisor, Department of State, Washington, DC 20520; phone (202) 647-1345
U.S. Department of State Bulletin
CC Gov Docs S 1.3:
Contains some full-text treaties and information about treaties. Scope: 1939-1989.
U.S. Department of State Dispatch
CC Gov Docs S 1.3/5:
Continues the Department of State Bulletin with updates on current treaty actions. Scope 1990-1999. Continue at various online State Department sites including
- Congress.gov TreatiesStatus of treaties from the 90th Congress forward.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The report from the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations on whether or not the treaty should be ratified. Includes the treaty text. (1970 forward)
- GPO AccessThe report from the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations on whether or not the treaty should be ratified. Includes the treaty text. (1995 forward)
- Senate-approved TreatiesThese are the text of treaties sent by the Senate to the President for ratification. (1975 forward)
Treaties to which the U.S. is not a party
- ASEAN TreatiesA table and archive of ASEAN agreements treaties to the 1960s.
- Council of EuropeTreaties to 1947.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Go to "Menu" (upper left-hand side of home page) --> All Sources, then search for treaties within sources. Most likely, you will want to search within "International Legal Materials" or "U.S. Treaties in Force."
- European Union TreatiesIncludes treaties establishing the EU plus essential documents.
- Organization of American StatesThe depository for agreements between American states. Scope: 1947 forward.
- United Nations Treaty DatabaseThe UN and League of Nation Treaty Series, multilateral treaties deposited with the UN, monthly statements of treaties and international agreements, treaty reference, and more.
