COVID-19 Update: Although the Gould Library building remains closed, the library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.
Comparative Political Data
Comprehensive directory to datasets and sources commonly used by political science students.
(Data query tool)
Search through quarterly and annual time-series data on international economic transactions and international investment position, published by the International Monetary Fund. Covers 1960 - current.
Direction of Trade Statistics on CD-Rom
Call Number: Libe 466 (Ask Ref. Libn for assistance)
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes time series of value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, published by the IMF (International Monetary Fund). Covers 1980 - current.
Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook (print)
Call Number: CC Books HF91 .D574 (newest in Reference)
Publication Date: 1965 to present
Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Also available quarterly. Can be helpful for understanding the online version.
From Arthur S. Banks, to quantify variables covered in Stateman's Yearbook. Over 200 indicators spanning 200 countries, some dating to 1815. Variables cover trade, conflict, infrastructure, expenditure, more.
Includes historical financial data dating back to 1265. Includes datasets in 10 topics: Asset Allocation, Commodities, Economic, Equity, Exchange Rates, Fixed Income, Development, Government and Debt, International Trade, and National Accounts. NOTE: You will need to set up a personal account and log in using your Carleton email address in order to access.
From the World Bank and the Center for International Business at Tuck Business School, the GPTAD provides information on preferential trade agreements around the world including those not notified to the WTO.
This international trade database from the United Nations provides export and import statistics by country, by commodity, by year to 1962. Register for access. Not all data is available for free but much of it is.
A comprehensive collection of data from the World Bank on trade barriers and related topics: trends in average applied tariff rates in developing and industrial countries, 1981-2006; FDI and its share of GDP, 2000-2006; and much more.
Locate trade and tariff statistics including: WTO's publication, Annual Trade Statistics (1998-present); comprehensive tariff data for all members; current trade statistics in database form; World Tariff Profiles; regional and preferential trade agreements.
Country Fact Sheets contain most relevant indicators about FDI for 188 economies; FDI in Brief has information about flows and stocks for 80 economies; FDI in Profile has information about flows and stocks for 112 economies.
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes statistics such as top trading partners (1998-present); trade in goods by country (1985-present); historical series such as U.S. International Trade in Goods, (annual, 1960-present); U.S. Imports of Crude Oil (monthly, 1973-present); and much more.