(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Key index to economics journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers. Content includes both economic theory and application. Covers 1969 - current.

(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A vast index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago.

The main discipline index of journals and over 500 collective volumes, plus books, dissertations, and working papers.

This database contains scholarly literature in business and economics as well as trade magazines specialized for audiences of practitioners in particular industries.

The contents of scholarly journals, and the most up-to-date indexing of recently published articles. Interdisciplinary, so search carefully.

This database from Lexis-Nexis provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Online covers 1972 to present while the print, ref H1.P8, goes back to 1915.

(also called Dissertation Abstracts)
Searching for dissertations is a helpful step in early background work as you are trying to identify a researchable topic. Dissertations often include very precise discussions of methodology - more so than published articles - as well as exhaustive literature reviews. ProQuest Digital Dissertations doctoral and masters' theses and provides abstracts, previews, and full text for most documents published after 1997.

Full text search across the scholarly literature on a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Part of the Web of Science (WOS). The Institute for Scientific Information publishes the Social Sciences Citation Index, which provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1,700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. It also covers individually selected, relevant items from more than 3,400 of the world's leading natural and physical science journals. A powerful capability is cited reference searching.