Librarian
Isabela Oliveira
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 467
507-222-5304
ioliveira@carleton.edu
507-222-5304
ioliveira@carleton.edu
Subjects: Africana Studies, French, German, History, Linguistics, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religion, Russian
ARTStor
- JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
ARTstor's repository of hundreds of thousands of images, including art, architecture, design, is now part of JSTOR.
STRATEGY: Use bibliographies and notes of seconary lit
Historians document the sources they use carefully. So, look through the bibliographies and footnotes from books or articles that you have to learn about specific titles of sources as well as types of sources (travel accounts, maps, ethnographies, early treatises, letters) that historians have used in the past to explore a subject.
STRATEGY: Search a digitized collection of documents
- Aluka: World Heritage Sites: Africa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An online digital library of scholarly resources that explores the archaeology, history and culture of Africa through its heritage sites and landscapes. - JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital repository of hundreds of thousands of images. Documentation is included. Learn to use ARTstor better with tutorials on YouTube. NOTE: If you're having browser trouble with ARTstor, please see these troubleshooting tips. - eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access full-text ethnohistories and ethnographies on cultures from around the world. - Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary documents in economic history from the University of London Library, Harvard Business School, Butler Library at Columbia University, and from the libraries of Yale University. Covers the period 1450 - 1850.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database"Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes."
- UW African Studies Digital CollectionDigitized books, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs, maps, and other resources from and about Africa. Note: "Browse the Collection" displays images/audio only; "Browse the Full text" displays text documents only.
STRATEGY: Do advanced searching in Catalyst
How to know what is a primary source in the catalog?
It can be tricky, but here are some tips:
- Conduct author searches in Catalyst and WorldCat for persons and organizational bodies important to your topic.
- Conduct word searches in Catalyst and WorldCat combining terms that describe your topic, geography, or cultural group with LCSH terms that typically indicate something was published as a primary source:
- early works to 1800
- correspondence
- personal narratives
- sources
- diaries
- pamphlets
- periodicals
- Search for your topic by subject or word, then limit your search or sort your search results by publication date to find those that were produced during the era in which you are interested.
NOTE: Remember that the names of geographic places change over time. So, it may be necessary to search for both the current and historical names.
