Librarian
Comparative Political Data Guide
Looking for more data sources and suggestions?
- Comparative Political DataGould Library's directory of comparative political data sources.
Major Sources for Data
Key sources of data for POSC 120. Each data source looks different and requires different steps for locating and downloading data. If you have questions, feel free to reach out to your librarian (Sean Leahy, smleahy@carleton.edu).
- V-DemVarieties of Democracy (V-Dem) is a unique approach to conceptualizing and measuring democracy. The V-Dem project distinguishes between five high-level principles of democracy: electoral, liberal, participatory, deliberative, and egalitarian, and collects data to measure these principles. Click here to explore the different datasets that V-Dem produces.
- V-Dem Graphing ToolsThe V-Dem Graphing Tools is a platform for making data visualization intuitive, accessible and easy to use. Select one of the tools to start exploring the data. There is no need to download any data to make use of the graphing tools.
- OECD Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Starting point for links to OECD statistics and data. We don't subscribe to all OECD data but can obtain publications via interlibrary loan if needed. - WDI: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Covers 1960 - present.
Note: For data documentation, see the print reference book: World Development Indicators, at call number Ref HC 59.15 .W656.
- Our World in DataOur World in Data’s mission is to publish the “research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems”.
- Freedom HousePublishes Freedom in the World and Freedom of the Press, annually assessing civil liberties and media independence in 200 countries and territories.
- Fragile States IndexAnalyzes stability risks of 178 countries against twelve social, economic, and political risks.
- Regional Authority IndexThe Regional Authority Index (RAI) measures the authority in self rule and shared rule exercised by regional governments within their countries
- World Social Protection Data Dashboards, International Labour OrganizationPopulation covered by at least one social protection cash benefit (effective coverage): Proportion of the total population receiving at least one contributory or non‑contributory cash benefit, or actively contributing to at least one social security scheme.
- Uppsala Conflict Data ProgramThe Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) is the world’s main provider of data on organized violence and the oldest ongoing data collection project for civil war, with a history of almost 40 years. Its definition of armed conflict has become the global standard of how conflicts are systematically defined and studied.
Governance Information, Indicators, and Datasets
- V-Demarieties of Democracy (V-Dem) is a unique approach to conceptualizing and measuring democracy. The V-Dem project distinguishes between five high-level principles of democracy: electoral, liberal, participatory, deliberative, and egalitarian, and collects data to measure these principles. Click here to explore the different datasets that V-Dem produces.
- V-Dem Graphing ToolsThe V-Dem Graphing Tools is a platform for making data visualization intuitive, accessible and easy to use. Select one of the tools to start exploring the data. There is no need to download any data to make use of the graphing tools.
- Freedom HousePublishes Freedom in the World and Freedom of the Press, annually assessing civil liberties and media independence in 200 countries and territories.
- Our World in Data -- CorruptionOffers visualizations of data drawn from Transparency International, World Bank, and others regarded political corruption of states around the world.
- Fragile States IndexAnalyzes stability risks of 178 countries against twelve social, economic, and political risks.
- Global Peace IndexRanks 144 countries against 23 indicators ranging from military expenditure to respect for human rights.
- Polity VMeasures regime characteristics (democracy/autocracy) for all states over 500,000 from 1800 to 2018. Also find other data on conflict and peace at this link.
- Database of Political InstitutionsContains 125 variables primarily measuring electoral rules and the political system.
- Comparative Constitutions ProjectThese researchers are collecting data on the characteristics of constitutions.
- Manifesto Project DatabaseThe project is based on quantitative content analyses of parties’ election programs from more than 50 countries covering all free, democratic elections since 1945.
Country Profiles
- CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. - CQ Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Political history, current issues, recent election trends and results, media information, and key demographic and economic facts. - Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Provides up-to-date political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories.
- State Department Background NotesThe State Department profiles each country's economy, history, geography, demographics, and recent political history.
Compendia
Compare countries on different measures (literacy, GDP, population) by using statistical compendia (collections of and directories to statistical sources).
- WDI: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1000 indicators for economics, health, demographics, government, and more for the countries of the world. - IFS: International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Thousands of time series covering more than 200 countries and areas, published by the IMF (International Monetary Fund). Covers 1945 - current. - Data Planet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search by topic across hundreds of datasets. Browse by data producer. Good for determining who has collected the data or statistics.NOTE: does not work on Chrome, use Safari, Firefox or IE. - UNData This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to data and statistics gathered by the United Nation's many statistical agencies. Search across the unified index or link to individual agencies or country data. - ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search the statistical abstracts of 40 countries at one time. Statistical abstracts provide a point of entry to the vast array of data available about countries.
Public Opinion Data
- World Values Survey
- This link opens in a new window
Surveys individuals in countries around the world on attitudes, values, trust, and demographics. - EurobarometerPublic opinion surveys of European citizens since 1973.
- Latinobarometro
- This link opens in a new window
An annual public opinion survey of approximately 19,000 interviews in 18 countries in Latin America representing more than 400 million inhabitants. - Asian BarometerPan-Asian household surveys on attitudes toward regimes, democracy, and economic reform.
- AfrobarometerSeries of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets and society conducted in 12+ African nations.
- Pew Research CenterThe Pew Research Center gives detailed information about the income inequality and more.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
One of the world's leading social science archives, with a focus on public opinion. Thousands of datasets, including international surveys, plus access to question-level searching of U.S. surveys through their iPoll tool.
