Librarian
Sean Leahy
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 465
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
Subjects: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Cognitive Science, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Environmental Studies, Geology, International Relations, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physical Education, Athletics, and Recreation (PEAR), Physics, Political Economy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Sociology/Anthropology, Statistics, Theater & Dance
LibKey Nomad
News and Current Affairs
The resources below will connect you to international, national, and local newspapers, as well as to leading magazines. News articles help you stay up-to-date on current affairs, allow you to track prior events as they unfolded, and can often connect you to experts on a particular topic (by following up on who an author might interview for insight on the event being covered).
- Access World News This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). - ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database. - New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowAccess to current New York Times. Subscription access provided through a partnership with the Carleton Student Association. First-time users will need to make an account with their Carleton credentials; faculty & staff accounts need to be every few years.
- Washington Post (washingtonpost.com) This link opens in a new window
Access to current Washington Post content going back to 2004, including access to the WaPo app. Archives searchable back through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Click "more..." below for app signup instructions... - Financial Times This link opens in a new windowInternational daily newspaper with a focus on business and economic news. Current students, faculty, and staff must register and create personal accounts using Carleton e-mail addresses using the access link above. Once registered, you can use your account to log in to FT.com from anywhere on any device by clicking on the "Sign in" link in the upper right-hand corner. Guest access for non-affiliated users is available within Gould Library. Please consult the Research/IT Desk during standard reference hours.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowAccess to the world's top newspapers and magazines as soon as they are available. Searchable by country, title, or date. Includes translation feature.
Magazines
- The EconomistFull-text, PDF access to print issues of The Economist
- The Economist OnlineFull-text access to online-only articles posted to The Economist's website.
- Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowAccess to full content of the website for Foreign Policy magazine. When off-campus, use the campus VPN for best access.
- The Atlantic MonthlyFull-text, PDF access to the print edition of The Atlantic (does not include online-only articles)
