Librarian
Sean Leahy
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 465
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
Subjects: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Cognitive Science, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Environmental Studies, Geology, International Relations, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physical Education, Athletics, and Recreation (PEAR), Physics, Political Economy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Sociology/Anthropology, Statistics, Theater & Dance
LibKey Nomad
Search Catalyst
All Formats
Where Do Books Fit In?
Turn to reference and scholarly books when you start to:
- get an overview of a topic,
- establish the history of an author's work over time,
- locate critical sources and authors to investigate,
- define terms and identify all the synonyms.
As you move through your research, books help you:
- to clarify concepts,
- understand methodology.
It can be easy to get lost in narrow research articles and overwhelmed on the internet. Don't overlook scholarly and reference books.
Call Numbers
Find more books by browsing in these call numbers of the reference room:
- B790-5802 - Philosophy - Modern
- JA71-80 - Political Science, General - Theory
- JC- Political Science - Theory
- PN80-99 - Literature - Criticism
(This list is partial; a complete list of Library of Congress call numbers is here.)
Search Reference
Both Credo and Reference Universe let you search across our reference collection.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Searches the indexes of our library's print reference books. When you find an entry you'd like to read, click the "Locate this book" button or put the title of the reference book into Catalyst to find the book's location in the Reference Collection.
Background on Philosophers
Many of these books feature biographies, bibliographies, historical context, scholarly and personal relations with other theorists, timelines, and more. This list is just to get you started. You can find more books like these in the rest of the library: search Catalyst for the theorist, film, topic, etc.
A Kant DictionaryCall Number: CC Ref B2751 .C38 1995Availability and more information from Catalyst...- Ancient Greek Authors byPublication Date: 1997
Historical Dictionary of Heidegger's Philosophy by Call Number: CC Ref B3279.H49 D455 and OnlineISBN: 0810837374Publication Date: 2000-04-12Availability and more information from Catalyst...- The Routledge dictionary of twentieth-century political thinkers byCall Number: CC Ref JA83 .R725 1998Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- Twentieth-Century European cultural theorists. First Series byCall Number: CC Ref PN451 .D4 v.242 and OnlinePublication Date: 2001Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Political Philosophy
These reference books have entries on the concepts you are encountering in this class and the critical scholars contributing to political philosophy. You will also find bibliographies to help further your research.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyInvaluable online reference source.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through in-depth author bibliographies from around the world.
Encyclopedia of Postmodernism by Call Number: CC Ref B831.2 .E63 2001ISBN: 0415152941Publication Date: 2000-11-02Availability and more information from Catalyst...
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by Call Number: CC Ref H41 .I58 2001 and OnlinePublication Date: 2001-11-22Availability and more information from Catalyst...
This is an enormous, seminal encyclopedia in the field. Library also has print copies in reference.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by Call Number: ONLINE and REF CB9.N59 2005"From abolitionism to Zionism, this encyclopedia clarifies the intellectual history of more than 750 complex ideas of concern to people today. Like its classic predecessor, the Dictionary of the History of Ideas (1973), this new set covers core Western ideas, while expanding its coverage to include the 'global perspectives and gender-inclusive' concepts that have evolved in the past 30 years. Reader's guides, cross-references, sidebars, and an index aid the reader in understanding the way ideas combine with other ideas."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005.
Philosophy by Call Number: CC Ref B72 .B97 2006ISBN: 1563089548Publication Date: 2005Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy by Call Number: CC Ref B51 .R68 1998 and OnlineISBN: 0415073103Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Online version is the Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.- Continuum Encyclopedia of Modern Criticism and TheoryCall Number: REF PN94 .C695Availability and more information from Catalyst...
The Routledge Companion to Nineteenth Century Philosophy by Call Number: CC Ref B803 .R68 2010ISBN: 0415404509Publication Date: 2010Availability and more information from Catalyst...
