Find the Full Text
In indexes where there is no full text, remember to check the Find It Button 
, or search the Journals List and/or Catalyst to see whether Carleton or St. Olaf subscribes to the journals online or in print.
Scholarly and/or peer-reviewed?
If you are looking only for scholarly and/or peer-reviewed journals, how can you tell?
Look up the title in: Ulrichsweb.com. Ulrich's is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world. It specifically states if a journal is academic [under "document type"] and if it is peer-reviewed [under "Refereed"].
Asian Studies Database
- BAS: Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and book chapters in Asian Studies. Primarily western-language materials in the humanities and social sciences, on East, South, and Southeast Asia. Covers materials published 1971-present, with some coverage extending back to the late nineteenth century.
Additional Databases for Economic Development in Japan
A complete list of indexes and databases is available through the Library's home page under the Databases tab.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Key index to economics journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers. Content includes both economic theory and application. Covers 1969 - current. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Main index to research in sociology, anthropology, and related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963 - current. - PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Includes information about articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about international public affairs. Covers publications from 1914 - present. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, dissertations, newspaper articles, NGO reports, web sites, and other materials in women?s and gender studies. Covers materials published 1972-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, plus full-text country economic reports from the EIU, market research reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Provides some full-text access to journal articles. Covers materials published 1965-present, with some coverage extending back to 1922. - CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers theory and research in international affairs. Strength in grey literature such as working papers, conference papers and procedings and government reports.
Interpreting "Find It" Results (2022)
Scholarly journals are going to be found, in most cases, either online or in print.
Searching Catalyst and using the Find It button are the best ways to determine what kind of subscription the library has and how to get your hands (or eyes, as the case may be) on it.
Following are explanations of the different results you'll get using the Find It button.
Instant Electronic Access
When you click the "Find It!" button, you will be taken to a record for the article in Catalyst. That record will tell you whether this is available electronically, in print, both, or neither. If it is available, you will see a message "Online Access" near the top of the page.
Click the Online Access button and you should be taken straight to the article.
If it doesn't work or you want to find other options, scroll down to see the electronic options for that article...
Follow a link and you'll be taken to the article.
Print Journals
If the library subscribes in print, you need to find the call number for the journal in Catalyst. Then go to the moving stacks on the 3rd floor of the library where the journals are. Catalyst shows the call number so you know where to find it on 3rd Libe.
If the print copy is only at St. Olaf, log in to Catalyst, then click the St. Olaf Library entry to expand it. Find the issue you need, then click the Request link to have the journal sent over to Carleton, where you can pick it up at the Circulation Desk.
Carleton Doesn't Subscribe
If Carleton doesn't subscribe to the journal for the issue you need, make a request through Interlibrary Loan.
"A Bit of Everything" Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Includes 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.
How long will it take to get this?
If you've requested something from Carleton, it usually comes the next week day.
If you've requested it through ILLiad, it will probably come in several days to two weeks, depending on how busy the library filling your request is. Please be patient -- remember someone has to go find the print journal on the shelf, bring it to a scanner, scan it and then send it on to you.
