Magazine Coverage
- Foreign Affairs
This link opens in a new window
- The Economist (1992-present)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Economist (historical archive)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1843 to the present minus the last 5 years.
World Papers in Library Databases
You can often access today's articles through Google searches or on newspapers' web sites. But to be able to search the archives without cost to you, and to have complex search engines at your fingertips, it's often helpful to use our major newspaper collections:
- ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes articles from US and international newspapers, country profiles, company information and financial performance measures, and US federal and state court decisions. Dates of coverage vary by publication, with coverage of court decisions reaching into the eighteenth century. - FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text media reports from around the world, including news, interviews, speeches, editorial commentary and other materials. English-language, often in translation. Covers materials published 1941-1996.
English Language Newspapers From Japan/With Articles About Japan
- ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database.
Asia in general:
BBC Monitoring Asia Pacific, 1998 to date;
Financial Times (London), 1996 to date;
Wall Street Journal Asia (Hong Kong), 1991-
Japan:
Mainichi Daily News, 1996 to date;
Asahi Shimbun, 1997-2003
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
Japan:
Daily Yomiuri, 1989-
Japan Times, 1998-
Japanese World, 2007-
Providing news and fundamental data about companies listed on the Tokyo and other Japanese Stock Exchanges including Osaka, Nagoya, Fukuoka, Jasdaq. A broad coverage of Japanese company and industry related news including listed company releases, financial reports (IR info), joint ventures, contracts, expansions, new services, planning and strategies and industry trends/updates. It also covers the daily fund index.
Nikkei Weekly, 1980-
