Librarian
Country Economic Overview Information
A great place to find recent history and an overview of the economy of a country. Also contains country and regional statistics.
- The Europa World Year Book (print and online)Call Number: CC Ref JN1 .E85 and Online
Background Information and Bibliographies
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by Call Number: CC Ref HB61 .N49 2008 v.1-8Publication Date: 2008Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Far more than just an alphabetical collection of definitions, this standard reference source in Economics has entries on concepts and individuals, provides pithy overviews along with bibliographies of important literature on each entry.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by Call Number: CC Ref HC15 .O94 and OnlineISBN: 0195105079Availability and more information from Catalyst...
The entries in this encyclopedia provide excellent background and overview information as well as help in framing a particular concept within the field of economic history. Relatively lengthy bibliographies are included at the end of each entry.- Oxford Bibliography of Economy and Consumption
This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of Atlantic economic history from 1500 to 1800.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search here for topics, names, events, types of research. A great scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. For example, search "price revolution" britain. You'll find an article, "Inflation of Prices 16th and 17th Centuries" in the _Reader's Guide to British History_.
Country and Topical Encyclopedias
Browse the reference shelves from DA through DJK for bibliographies focused on countries or topics. Within these specialized sources one can find bibliographies relevant to economic history. A few examples of what you can find there include:
- Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era
Reference DA 550 .E527 2004 v. 1-4 - Encyclopedia of Romanticism: Culture in Britain, 1780's - 1830's
Reference DA 529 .E53 1992 - Britain in the Hanoverian Age, 1714-1837: An Encyclopedia
Reference DA 480 .B75 1997
