Librarian
Isabela Oliveira
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 467
507-222-5304
ioliveira@carleton.edu
507-222-5304
ioliveira@carleton.edu
Subjects: Africana Studies, French, German, History, Linguistics, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religion, Russian
LibKey Nomad
Finding books & e-books
All Formats
There are many ways to locate sources that are relevant to your research topic.
- Search by doing a simple keyword search or by typing in a book title in the Catalyst search box above and browse your results to find a few books that look relevant.
- Open up a Catalyst record for one or more of these books and scroll down the page to look at the "Subjects." You can click on the subjects in blue to view additional related material.
- Do a virtual browse at the very bottom of a book record in Catalyst.
- Look at the bibliography of books and articles you have already identified as useful. Authors may cite other useful sources on similar topics to yours.
Fairy Tale Books
-
African Folktales
by
ISBN: 0805207325Publication Date: 1987-12-27A selection of eighty-one folktales from the many cultures that exist south of the Sahara, African Folktales includes tales of the Hausa and the Ashanti, the Bantu, the Bushmen, and the Zulu. -
American Indian Myth and Legends
by
ISBN: 0394507967Publication Date: 1984-10-12This magnificent collection gathers 160 tales from 80 tribal gathers to offer a rich and lively panorama of the Native American mythic heritage. -
Arab Folktales
by
ISBN: 0394501047Publication Date: 1986-03-12Out of alleys of Cairo and Bedouin tents, from the Moroccan laborers and Syrian peasants, this collection of 130 tales comes from Arab worlds from North Africa to the Holy Land. -
Chinese Fairy Tales and Fantasies
by
This fresh and elegant translation of one hundred tales from twenty-five centuries of Chinese literature opens up a magical world far from our customary haunts. Illustrated with woodcuts. -
The Complete and Original Norwegian Folktales of Asbjørnsen and Moe
by
ISBN: 1517905680Publication Date: 2019-09-17A new, definitive English translation of the celebrated story collection regarded as a landmark of Norwegian literature and culture. Tiina Nunnally's vivid translation of their monumental collection is the first new English translation in more than 150 years--and the first ever to include all sixty original tales. -
The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales
by
ISBN: 9781937994310Publication Date: 2013-09-19A truly complete collection of fairy tales from the Brothers Grimm featuring color plates and illustrations from award-winning illustrator, Arthur Rackham. -
Cuentos Folkloricos Latinoamericanos: Fábulas de Las Tradiciones Hispanas e Indí Genas / Latin American Folktales: Stories from Hispanic and Indian Traditions
by
ISBN: 0375713972Publication Date: 2003-11-11Spanning twenty countries and five hundred years, from the earliest colonial myths to oral tales collected in the twentieth century from southern California, Florida, Texas, and New Mexico, USA, Latin American Folkloric Tales is the first anthology published in Spanish representative of the folkloric tradition of Spanish-speaking America in its entirety. -
Elijah's Violin and Other Jewish Fairy Tales
by
ISBN: 9780195092004Publication Date: 1994-10-20In Elijah's Violin, Howard Schwartz offers a sumptuous collection of thirty-six Jewish fairy tales from virtually every corner of the world. At once otherworldly and earthy, pious and playful, these celebrated tales from Morocco and India, Spain and Eastern Europe, Babylon and Egypt, illustrate not only their Jewish character but also their universality of themes. -
Folktales of India
by
ISBN: 0394554795Publication Date: 1992-02-18An enchanting collection of 110 tales, translated from twenty-two different languages, that are by turns harrowing and comic, sardonic and allegorical, mysterious and romantic. Here is an indispensable guide to India's ageless folklore tradition. -
Italian Folktales
by
ISBN: 0151457700Publication Date: 1990-09-28Filled with kings and peasants, saints and ogres—as well as some quite extraordinary plants and animals—these two hundred tales bring to life Italy’s folklore, sometimes with earthy humor, sometimes with noble mystery, and sometimes with the playfulness of sheer nonsense. -
Japanese Tales
by
ISBN: 0394521900Publication Date: 1987-04-12Arranged by themes this is a mammoth collection of folktales that concentrates on those originating in the twelfth through the fourteenth centuries. -
Russian Fairy Tales
by
ISBN: 0394730909Publication Date: 1976-09-12Translated by Norbert Guterman - the most comprehensive collection of classic Russian fairy tales available in English. In more than 175 immortal stories, readers encounter thieves and kings; heroes and peasants; terrifying witches and beautiful damsels; enchanting children and crafty animals. Included are the unique Russian characters of Koschey the Deathless, Baba Yaga and the Swan Maiden. -
The Russian Folktale by Vladimir Yakolevich Propp
by
ISBN: 9780814334669Publication Date: 2012-11-30This volume translates into English for the first time Propp's book The Russian Folktale, which was based on a seminar on Russian folktales that Propp taught at Leningrad State University late in his life. The Russian Folktale begins with Propp's description of the folktale's aesthetic qualities and the history of the term; the history of folklore studies, first in Western Europe and then in Russia and the USSR; and the place of the folktale in the matrix of folk culture and folk oral creativity.
Finding items beyond Carleton
-
WorldCat This link opens in a new window(Searches through citation information)
Catalog of library materials from across the country, especially books, that Carleton may not have. You can include searches for articles if desired. When you find something you want, order it through ILL by clicking on the "Request item through InterLibrary Loan" link.
-
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Carleton students, staff, and faculty to request books or articles that Carleton and St. Olaf do not own from other libraries. NOTE: Items can take from 2 days to 2 weeks to arrive.
