LibKey Nomad
Finding articles
An easy way to get started searching for articles is by using the Catalyst search tab above. You can search by keyword or by article title. You can also use databases like JSTOR or a search engine like Google Scholar to find articles. These are just a couple of the places where you can find articles.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. -
ProQuest This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search all of the ProQuest databases available at Carleton. -
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSearches through citations, subject headings, and some abstracts
The premier database for linguistics and literary studies, this index includes articles, dissertations, books, book chapters, and more. Covers 1926 - current. -
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database. -
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Use Google's special academic search to locate scholarly articles from across disciplines. On campus, the preferences are set to indicate the Library's full-text access to what you find (links on the right). Use the "cited by" link to see who has cited a particular work you're interested in.
Example Journals
-
Fairy Tale ReviewFounded in 2005 by Kate Bernheimer, Fairy Tale Review is an annual literary journal dedicated to publishing new fairy tales and to helping raise public awareness of fairy tales as a diverse, innovative art form.
-
Fabula : Zeitschrift für Erzählforschung : journal of folktale studiesFabula is a multilingual academic journal on international comparative folklore studies with a focus on European narratives. It publishes essays, reviews and conference reports in German, English and French.
Film Databases
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowA streaming video platform of current and classic documentaries and feature films.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and transcripts)
A large collection of streaming videos covering all academic disciplines.
