Librarian
Where to start
- Reference sources
(pointers to scholarly sources) - Scholarly sources
(pointers to primary sources) - Primary sources
(pointers to new ideas)
Reference Works: A Selection
Use these resources to get an overview of topics related to your research, to familiarize yourself with names, places, concepts important to your topic, and to get recommendations for books and articles on your topic. Return to them as you are refining your topic, or as you need clarification while doing your research.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Authoritative full text collection of historical scholarship in several different subfields. Includes Cambridge History of the Cold War:
- Volume 1
- Volume 2
- Volume 3
Oxford Bibliographies: "The Cold War" [International Relations] by
Call Number: [online]Publication Date: 19 SEPTEMBER 2014Oxford Bibliographies is a great place to start your research. It will help give you a general overview of the topic, and lots of helpful pointers for places to look next.
The Oxford Handbook of the Cold War by ISBN: 9780199236961Publication Date: 2013-04-05Overview articles about different aspects of the cold war.
The Cold War reference guide : a general history and annotated chronology with selected biographies by Call Number: REF D843 .S3365 1997ISBN: 0786401737Publication Date: 1996Availability and more information from Catalyst...
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by Call Number: ONLINE and REF CB9.N59 2005"From abolitionism to Zionism, this encyclopedia clarifies the intellectual history of more than 750 complex ideas of concern to people today. Like its classic predecessor, the Dictionary of the History of Ideas (1973), this new set covers core Western ideas, while expanding its coverage to include the 'global perspectives and gender-inclusive' concepts that have evolved in the past 30 years. Reader's guides, cross-references, sidebars, and an index aid the reader in understanding the way ideas combine with other ideas."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005.
A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing by Call Number: REF: D13 .G47 1998Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Historiographical entries about historians, concepts, methods, and approaches relevant to the practice of historical writing.
Encyclopedia of American cultural and intellectual history by Call Number: REF: E169.1 .E624 2001 and OnlineAvailability and more information from Catalyst...
Three volume set covering a wide range of topics, themes, people, and institutions relevant to the study of the creation and dissemination of knowledge in the U.S.Reader's guide to British history by
Call Number: REF: DA34 .R43 2003 and OnlineISBN: 1-57958-427-6Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Essays on themes, controversies, and people central to British historiography. Extensive bibliographies.
