Maps of Antarctica
Carleton has a small collection of maps of Antarctica that are kept with the Gift Maps.
Some of them are USGS photo-maps, and all of them at cataloged on a paper index in their drawer.
A USGS photo-map of Antartica.
Local Maps
Carleton doesn't have a specific collection of local maps, but maps of Northfield and the surrounding areas can be found in the 7.5 minute maps or 15 minute maps. The 15 minute maps would be a better option for students looking for older depiction of Northfield.
If digital is an option, Sanborn Maps is a database of historic maps that Carleton subscribes to.
Map Links
- Earth As Art Maps @ University of TexasCool looking satellite photography.
- Carleton Arboretum ArchivesIncludes old and historic maps of the Arb, photos, reports, informational posters, and other related material.
- Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of historic digital maps that Carleton pays to access. A good resources for finding older maps at the local level.
- GIS and Geospatial Data (Library guide)A guide on GIS data from the Carleton Library.
Serial Set and Gov Docs Oversized
On the east end of the map alcove, there's a stationary set of drawers that contains the Serial Set and GovDoc oversized maps. Both are maps that were included with various government publications. The Serial Set maps were included in the Serial Set, a long-running collection of official Congressional reports and documents dating back to the 1800s.
Pre-1900 Maps
Scattered throughout the map collection are a number of really beautiful historic maps.
The Serial Set maps as well as the Wisconsin Geological Survey drawer are good places to look for cool cartographic art.
Pre-1900 Maps from the Carleton Collection
A Geological Map of Lake Superior from the US Serial Set
A French Map of Panama found in the US Serial Set
A Geological Map of Lake Superior from the US Serial Set
A USGS Map of Wisconsin (USGS)
Maps of US Mexico Border
Carleton has a number of USGS photo-maps of the border between the US and Mexico. The University of Texas has digitized their whole series, but if you'd like to work with a hard copy, they're kept in the same row of cabinets as the Gift Maps.
A USGS photo-map of the Arizona-Sonora border.
Other Maps
Defense Mapping Agency Maps: Carleton owns a mixed bag of USGS-DMA topographic maps. You can find them in the same bank of sliding cabinets as the first of the Gift Maps. They are of 1:50,000 scale and have a paper index.
Miscellaneous Maps with and Without Call Numbers: These maps are stored close to the DMA maps in the first bank of gift map cabinets. As their title suggests, they are a mix of different things. They tend to be more recent maps that were probably bought for a particular class or purpose.
State Maps: In the first bank of sliding cabinets as the gift maps, there are a set of 1:500,000 scale US state maps with county outlines.
USGS Folios: The sliding cabinets marked "Folios" contain folios of the United States Geological Atlas. These folios date from the late 1800s to the early 1900s, and as such are both dated and fragile.
