Style Guides
Chicago Manual of Style (17th Edition) by Call Number: ONLINE and Ready Ref Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide
This link opens in a new window
Compiled and published by the Chicago Manual of Style. Choose Notes & Bib (humanities) or Author - Date (social science & science). Contains examples for how to cite: Book; Chapter or other part of an edited book; Translated book; E-book; Journal article; News or magazine article; Book review; Interview; Personal communication; Thesis or dissertation; Website content; Social media content.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian 9th ed.) by Call Number: ONLINE and LB2369 .T8 2018ISBN: 9780226430577Publication Date: 2018Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Also just known as "Turabian style". Includes information about best practices for research and writing, as adapted from the most recent editions of The Craft of Research and The Chicago Manual of Style.
Chicago Quick Guide: Notes & Bibliography!
- Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide: Notes & Bibliography (ch 14)
Compiled and published by the Chicago Manual of Style (for footnotes and endnote; humanities). Contains examples for how to cite: Book; Chapter or other part of an edited book; Translated book; E-book; Journal article; News or magazine article; Book review; Interview; Personal communication; Thesis or dissertation; Website content; Social media content. - Chapter 14 (footnotes & bibliography; all info) - Chicago Manual of Style
This link opens in a new window
Rules for how to format footnotes and bibliography entries for all sorts of primary and secondary sources! - Chicago Manual of Style: Annotated bibliography exampleRemember that your annotated bibliographies are not simply lists. They are creative, rhetorical devices that map out the scholarly conversation on a topic.
Citing EU documents
The bluebook : a uniform system of citationCall Number: Ready Ref KF245 .B58 2015ISBN: 9780692400197Publication Date: 2015Availability and more information from Catalyst...
This is the style guide used for law and legal studies. You can typically use Chicago for law, but the Bluebook has myriad examples of particular legal sources, including statutes, court cases, and IGO documents. Quick Style Guide and Table 2 (Foreign Jurisdictions) is available online.
The Bluebook's Rule 21 explains how to cite to international materials in general. Specific Bluebook rules pertaining to EU law include:
-
Rule 21.4 (esp. 21.4.5b for non-US treaties) Treaties and other international agreements
-
Rule 21.5.2 and Table 3 European Union Courts
-
Rule 21.5.3 European Court of Human Rights
-
**Rule 21.9 EU and European Community Materials, detailing legislation, COM/SEC documents, debates, founding treaties, green and white papers, press releases, and the Official Journal.
-
Rule 21.10 Council of Europe
(N) 1. Agreement on the withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community, 2019 O.J. (C 384 I) 15.
(B) Agreement on the withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community. 2019 O.J. (C 384 I) 1-177.
- Citing EU Case LawMethod of citing the case-law of the Court of Justice of the European Union on the basis of the ECLI (European Case-Law Identifier).
