Skip to main content

COVID-19 Update: Although the Gould Library building remains closed, the library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

Alumni Information and Services

A guide for Carleton soon-to-be alumni and current alumni on library services.

Doing Research at the Library

Though you will not have access to our electronic resources once you've graduated, there are many options available to you when you need to do library research. You can still search Catalyst, even though you no longer have access to the online content.

If you are affiliated with a college or university as a staff member or as a student, you will have access to their library subscriptions like databases, ebooks, etc. If you aren't a member of an academic institution but live near one, you may still be able to use many of their collections if you visit the library. For instance, Carleton is open to Northfield community members and most of our electronic collections may be used by the member of the public who come into the library. 

You should also check with your local public library. Many public libraries offer access to a large number of electronic collections, though they are sometimes less scholarly than what we have access to here. For example, if you are a Minnesota resident, you have access to ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) databases, which is a collection of 15 databases including Academic Search Premier, ProQuest Newsstand Complete, and WorldCat. All you need to access the databases is a Minnesota library card.

Open Access Journals

Open access journals are journals that are available free and in full-text to readers on the web. You can see a list of open access journals and search for articles at the Directory of Open Access Journals. You may also try searching Google Scholar to find the full text of articles that are sometimes posted on authors' websites or institutional repositories. Note, however, that you will most often find the article available for a fee from the publisher's website. I would recommend checking with a local library about getting access to the article before you order one from a publisher. 


Below is a list of free online databases and directories

Art Discovery Group Catalog (ADGC)

Bibliography of the History of Art

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

Directory of Open Access Journals

Flickr Commons

Getty Research Portal

Google Art and Culture Project

Google Books

INASP

JSTOR Register & Read

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

OAIster

Pew Research Center

Project Gutenberg

Rijksstudio

Smarthistory

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

World Images

Your Paintings