Subject Guide
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Multiple Paths into the Scholarship
There are multiple avenues into the historical scholarship of a topic, subfield, or area. Some of these paths are represented by a specific tool while others are a strategy or approach.
- Known secondary literature
- Reference works
- Finding articles (look in: Indexes and databases)
- Finding books (look in: Catalogs like Catalyst)
- Book reviews
Search a database
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present. - Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Index of scholarship on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, 1906 - current. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - ProQuest Black Studies Periodicals (International Index to Black Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Explore cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues in African and African-American Studies. Covers 1998 - current.
- Africana Periodical Literature DatabaseAn English language database that indexes articles from journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.
Africa Bibliography by Call Number: Ref DT3 .A38Brings together works published on Africa in a given year. Arranged by region, country, and then subject.
International African BibliographyCall Number: CC Reference DT3 .I58Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Jan. 1971 - 2012
Indexes 1,150 periodicals each year. Arranged by area/topic; 1980 to date issues have subject and ethnic group indexes but they are not detailed.
How to find a journal article?
- Click the Find It! button, and follow links into full text
- No full text? Look up the journal title in Catalyst and try browsing to the article (it might be on paper!)
- Still no luck? Submit an Inter-Library Loan (ILL) request
- InterLibrary Loan (ILL)InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Carleton students, staff, and faculty to request items that Carleton and St. Olaf do not own from other libraries. NOTE: Items can take from 2 days to 2 weeks to arrive.
- Catalyst This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Search the collections of Carleton and St. Olaf College libraries.
