Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.
HIST 283: Christian Encounter, Conversion, and Conflict in Modern Africa
There's no one thing! Try advanced searches in Catalyst for subjects like: biography [also use for autobiographies], newspapers, "personal papers" [use for archival material], correspondence [use for letters], personal diaries, photographs, videos, interviews, pamphlets, artwork, sources [a common one!], and many other types of things!
STRATEGY: Use bibliographies and notes of seconary lit
Historians not only reference the secondary sources they use, but they also document their primary works carefully. As such, you can use the bibliographies and notes to learn about specific titles of sources (Dahomey and Its Neighbors) as well as types of sources (travel accounts, early treatises, letters) that historians use to explore a subject.
STRATEGY: Search a digitized collection of documents
Original Papers-Missionaries Rev James White. Section IV, Africa missions. [microfilm] by Church Missionary Society archive.
Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Reproduces papers of the Church Missionary Society held at the CMS Headquarters in London and the University of Birmingham Library; includes books of correspondence, reports, records, applications, journals, and minutes.
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search through hundreds of British periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th century, all available in full text. Also allows searching for cartoons, photographs, illustrations, and other images. Covers 1680 - 1930.