Best Bets for Images
-
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and transcripts)
Aggregates millions of digital items from major libraries and collections across the country, including Carleton College. -
AP Images(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Search through the photographs, illustrations, and other images taken or created by the Associated Press since 1826. Search by simple keyword or by complex searches such as concept, color, and category. 1826 - current. -
EBSCO Image Collection(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Includes a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.
-
Library of Congress Digital Collections searchThe digital collections of the Library of Congress: photos, interviews, gov docs, letters, personal narratives, and more.
-
National Archives SearchSearches across digitized and undigitized collection material from the US National Archives.
-
Wikimedia CommonsOver 16 million freely usable media files. Like Wikipedia, anyone can contribute to the collection. Copyright and licensing information is provided for every image.
-
Flickr: Advanced SearchUsing the drop down menu on the upper left of the flickr advanced search page, you click on "any license" to choose a license you want to search under. "All Creative Commons" and "U.S. Government Works" are both good choices.
-
Forest History Society: Digital CollectionsThis Research Portal provides access to over 45,000 citations to published items on environmental history topics, over 30,000 historic photographs, U.S. Forest Service history materials, descriptions of nearly 8,000 archival collections from over 450 North American repositories, and much more.
-
Carleton Special Collections: illustrated booksCatalyst search for books from Carleton's Special Collections that contain illustrations. Hint: add other keywords to this search relevant to your topic!
Large Primary Source Collections
Most -- but not all! -- content in these databases is primary sources.
-
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and transcripts)
Aggregates millions of digital items from major libraries and collections across the country, including Carleton College. -
HathiTrust Digital Library(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students.
-
Internet archiveThe Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access to current and historical web content.
-
Europeana(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
A large collections with artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe. -
Library of Congress Digital Collections(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Contains texts, sound recordings, still and moving images, maps, and sheet music from the Library of Congress that document American History.
NOTE: The Library of Congress has migrated all collections from the American Memory Project into this new platform. -
Carleton College Archives Database(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Search all known records of archival photographs, documents, and artifacts at Carleton College, many of which are available in digitized form. -
Carleton College Oral Histories(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Includes recorded interviews with Carleton faculty, alumni, staff and others covering their individual experiences at Carleton. 1971-2014
-
American Archive of Public BroadcastingHistoric programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Includes video of Watergate hearings, raw interview footage form Ken Burns documentaries, and many other political speeches and interviews.
