Librarian
Brie Baumert
She/her
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 470
507-222-4906
bbaumert@carleton.edu
507-222-4906
bbaumert@carleton.edu
Why Use Articles?
Articles are great sources for information for your research, especially:
- For highly specific information
- For the most recent or "cutting-edge" information available
- As an excellent source of historical information
Also, articles usually include bibliographies, which can lead you to additional information on a topic.
Articles are available from many different types of publications, including: scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, chapters in books, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journals, etc.
Search Catalyst for Articles
Articles
Discover Journal Titles
- Browzine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
An online tool that allows you to browse, read, and stay current with scholarly journals. Also available as an app for iOS, Android, and Kindle Fire devices.
- Index to Jewish PeriodicalsCall Number: REF DS133 .I5 (view physical holdings)Publication Date: 1985-2017
- RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies(1966-current) Provides selective indexing of thousands of journals and essay collections in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages. International in focus. The library also has print copies of this index in the reference collection (REF DS 102 .J6) from the years 1966-2000 when it ceased print publication and moved to its current online format.
Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches through citations, subject headings, and some abstracts
The premier database for linguistics and literary studies, this index includes articles, dissertations, books, book chapters, and more. Covers 1926 - current. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary search tool. Covers 1973 - current.
