Librarian
Where to search for scholarly articles
To find scholarly literature (articles, book chapters), MLA International Bibliography (does not include full text) and JSTOR (includes full text) are your two best bets. JSTOR contains a subset of the journals in MLA, but includes them in full text, so the two databases are useful in different ways. Both databases inlclude scholalry/peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, theses/dissertation, and other papers such as presentation papers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches through citations, subject headings, and some abstracts
The premier database for linguistics and literary studies, this index includes articles, dissertations, books, book chapters, and more. Covers 1926 - current. - Catalyst This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Great place to conduct some preliminary searches on your topic. Material in MLA International Bibliography and JStor is discoverable in Catalyst.
Below are some useful subject searches you can conduct in Catalyst. These subject searches are not necessarily exhaustive, and sometimes the search results will contain material not directly related to the search. However, a subject search such as the ones in this example are useful in helping you get an idea for what is included in the secondary literature.
These subject searches will generate results in multiple source types (books, articles, videos, etc).
García Márquez, Gabriel, 1927-2014
Bibliographic Guide to Gabriel Garcia Marquez, 1986-1992 by ISBN: 0313288321Publication Date: 1994-03-23Gabriel Garcia Marquez is one of the most significant authors of the 20th century, having won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982. This book presents a comprehensive annotated bibliography of books and articles by and about Marquez published between 1986 and 1992. The first part of the book lists primary sources by and about Marquez, and includes voice recordings and movies. The second part of the book brings together entries for secondary sources, including reviews. Born in Colombia in 1928, Gabriel Garcia Marquez has become one of the most outstanding and influential novelists of the 20th century. He has received numerous awards, including the 1982 Nobel Prize for Literature. His writings have generated an enormous amount of scholarship, and his works are a part of the curricula taught in most American colleges and universities. This bibliography provides a comprehensive, annotated record of works by and about Marquez from 1986 to 1992.
Bibliographic Guide to Gabriel Garcia Marquez, 1992-2002 by ISBN: 0313328048Publication Date: 2003-08-30With this latest installment, Nelly Sfeir v. de Gonzalez has completed her triology of bibliographies on Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Born in Colombia in 1927, Garcia Marquez has become one of the most outstanding and influential novelists of the 20th century. He has received numerous awards, including the 1982 Nobel Prize for Literature. His work has generated an enormous amount of scholarship and his writings are part of the curricula taught in most American colleges and universities. This third volume presents a comprehensive annotated bibliography of books, articles, and non-print materials by and about Garcia Marquez published between 1992 and 2002. The first part consists of primary sources by Garcia Marquez, while, the second part brings together entries for secondary sources, including reviews.
Searching for books
- Catalyst This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library's main search engine, Catlayst is a great place to search for books at Carleton and St. Olaf. The Spanish literature is located in the PQ call number range on the third floor of the Carleton library, and you can browse the shelves titles of novels and titles of literary criticism about the literature.
You can also conduct a virtual shelve browse using Catalyst. For example, when you open up a book result/record in Catalyst, at the very bottom of the page, you will see an option to browse titles nearby where your title is physically located.
You can also conduct a keyword search, and limit your results to call number range in order to identify titles related to your keyword search. - WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Search for library materials, especially books, that Carleton may not have. You can include searches for articles if desired. When you find something you want, order it through ILL by clicking on the "Request item through InterLibrary Loan" link.
