LibKey Nomad
Remember
Reviews are structured differently depending on their intended audience. Is this...
- An academic journal printing a review intended for a scholarly audience?
- A trade journal reviewing a book for a particular profession?
- A magazine or newspaper reviewing the book for the general public?
A scholarly book review should not only provide a considered opinion on the book's worth but should also explain how the book fits into the already-existing landscape of thought and publication on the topic.
Book Review Sources
- ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject headings)
A searchable list of monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, and collections of essays about the English language or literature written in English. Covers scholarship published anywhere in the world between 1920 - 2002. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database. - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search all of the ProQuest databases available at Carleton. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications. - Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
This index includes citations to articles in popular press publications ncluding Newsweek, Time, Life, The New Republic, The New Yorker, and The Nation. Covers 1890 - 1982. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A vast index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current.
