LibKey Nomad
Secondary sources
PRO TIP: If you're not finding other sources, try searching for /paleoseismology + [your location]/.
- In Catalyst, /paleoseismology South Carolina/
-
USGS Publications WarehouseProvides access to over 160,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
-
USGS Earthquake dataAccess to earthquake data from the USGS. Many of these products are interactive maps, but look for a Download button at the bottom of the list of earthquakes, which often includes a CSV download option.
-
GeoRef This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
The place to start to find Geology literature. GeoRef has articles, conference proceedings, maps, reports, and dissertations. Take a look at the thesaurus if you're having trouble finding good keywords. Covers publications from 1785 - present.
Pro tip: You can search GeoRef by latitude and longitude!
Example: Northfield, Minnesota
•Find latitude and longitude in Degrees/Minutes/Seconds (you can Google this)
–Latitude: 44°27’30” N
–Longitude: 093°09’42” W
•Write the latitude/longitude in a way GeoRef can understand:
–N442730 W0930942
–Or to search a broader area: N44* W093*
–Enter the latitude/longitude as it appears above into a search box in GeoRef and choose "Latitude and Longitude" in the dropdown menu to the right of the search box. NOTE: Your longitude number (the East/West one) should be 7 digits total. If it is only 6 digits long, add in a 0 manually at the front.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A vast index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current. -
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of full-text articles from core geoscience journals that are indexed by GeoRef, 2000 - current. You can use a map to search for literature about a specific location, and you can narrow search results to specific geologic time periods. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. -
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship. -
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window(Searches through citation information)
Index of scholarship on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, 1906 - current.
Socio-cultural context
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. -
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window(Searches through citation information)
Index of scholarship on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, 1906 - current. -
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text and full-image articles for major newspapers from the United States (including Historical Black Newspapers and Christian Science Monitor); plus ABC (Spain), Le Monde, the Jerusalem Post (formerly the Palestine Post), The Korea Times, London Evening Standard, South China Morning Post, and the Times of India. Each paper is available from its first issue through about 2013 (depending on the paper). Earliest papers start in 1827.
-
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across newspapers and digitized collections of primary sources from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, including ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, The Times of London, The Illustrated London News, the Times Literary Supplement, The Economist, and many more. Covers 1604 - present (varying by source). -
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across all of Carleton's Readex collections at once. Includes historical newspapers, government documents, books, ephemera, history of science and artificial intelligence, and the like. -
East View This link opens in a new windowSearch all East View databases for historical newspaper and journal content from: China, Southeast Asia, the Middle East, North Africa, Latin America, and Russia.
-
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 This link opens in a new windowBritish government documents concerning politics, economic and industrial development, trade, migration, education, administration, language, aid, agriculture and irrigation, and media.
-
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of documents generated by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices in countries and regions of Africa. Covers 1834 - 1966. -
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of documents generated by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices in countries and regions of Latin America. Covers 1833 - 1969. -
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of documents generated by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices in countries and regions of the Middle East including Afghanistan, Arabia, Egypt, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, Persia, Sudan, Suez Canal, Syria, and Turkey. Covers 1812 - 1969. -
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search through the full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the U.S by ethnic, minority, and native presses. Covers 1991 - current.
-
CARLETON: Hakluyt Society publications (books and microfilm)Scholarly editions of primary records of historic voyages, travels and other geographical material. Content ranges from approximately 1100-1900.
-
Hakluyt Society publications + earthquakeScholarly editions of primary records of historic voyages, travels and other geographical material. Content ranges from approximately 1100-1900. Not all books have been digitized; this is a small subset of Hakluyt publications that have the word "earthquake" in the full text somewhere.
Reference sources
-
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes
by
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
-
USGS Earthquake GlossaryIdentify and learn terminology related to earthquakes.
