LibKey Nomad
Translating older place names
Not sure where Tabropane was? Try these methods for translating...
1. Look in a catalog or reference book
-
WorldCat This link opens in a new window(Searches through citation information)
Catalog of library materials from across the country, especially books, that Carleton may not have. You can include searches for articles if desired. When you find something you want, order it through ILL by clicking on the "Request item through InterLibrary Loan" link.
-
Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary
by
ISBN: 0877795460Publication Date: 2001Includes historical place names.
-
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
-
The World Almanac and Book of Facts
by
Call Number: REF AY67.N5 W7 and OnlineISBN: 9781600572067Publication Date: 2016Availability and more information from Catalyst...
2. Look at old maps
-
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection (browse)Includes maps from the 14th - 21st centuries, covering all parts of the glob in multiple levels of granularity. Many historical maps have been georeferenced.
-
Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionIncludes digitized historical maps from around the world.
-
CATALYST SEARCH: Historical atlasesYou may want to narrow by geographic region, or online resource, etc.
3. (Advanced) Search Name Authority Files
-
Library of Congress Name Authority Files (LCNAF)The US Library of Congress's database of names and geography can sometimes be helpful for finding alternative or older spellings. You do not need to use their preferred spelling! However, these spellings can be helpful when looking for a mention of a person or place in a much older primary source.
-
Virtual International Authority FileIncludes vocabulary from libraries around the world; has many alternate spellings and translations.
-
WikipediaA great place to look for common misspellings and alternate romanizations!
Personal names
-
ALA-LC Romanization tablesThe official way that libraries will spell someone's name.
-
WikipediaA great place to look for common misspellings and alternate romanizations!
About Russian spelling
Russian words can be transliterated several different ways when spelled using Roman characters, so try several ways of spelling people's names or other terms.
-
Transliteration Table - WikipediaLays out the English letters that may be substituted for Russian characters in different transliteration methods.
-
ALA-LC Romanization tablesThe official way that libraries will spell someone's name.
