Journals
- Tribal college journalSome content also available for free online
- Other journals, newspapers, and newsletters from and about Indigenous Communities in America"Native American" OR "American Indian" OR Indigenous; Material type = Journal
- Browzine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
An online tool that allows you to browse, read, and stay current with scholarly journals. Also available as an app for iOS, Android, and Kindle Fire devices.
Course Readings
Sources and Methods in Indigenous Studies by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781315528847Publication Date: 2016
Why You Can't Teach United States History Without American Indians by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781469621210Publication Date: 2015
How to place an ILL request
- InterLibrary Loan (ILL)InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Carleton students, staff, and faculty to request items that Carleton and St. Olaf do not own from other libraries. NOTE: Items can take from 2 days to 2 weeks to arrive.
LibKey Nomad
Catalyst & Specialized Databases
- Catalyst This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Search the collections of Carleton and St. Olaf College libraries.
- Addressing harmful language in Library Catalog (Catalyst)Our library staff is engaged in an ongoing effort to revise the catalog records over which we have editorial control. If you encounter any language that you consider to be harmful or offensive, please use this form to report it.
To find books in Catalyst, you may need to use some outdated or search terms. YOU DO NOT NEED TO REPLICATE THIS LANGUAGE IN YOUR WRITING!
- Santee Indians / Dakota Indians -- Education
- Indians of North America -- Education (Higher)
- AND Any Field (contains) biography
- Indians of North America -- Government relations
- (To 1789; 1789-1869; 1869-1934; 1934-)
- Indians, Treatment of -- United States -- History
- Universities and colleges -- United States -- Administration
- College students--United States +
- --Political activity
- --Social conditions
- --Social networks
- --Societies, etc.
- --Societies and clubs
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago.
- ALL HISTORY DATABASESIf you aren't seeing a helpful database, try looking at the whole list! You can narrow them down by material type (newspapers, data and statistics, full text journal articles, etc.).
EDUCATION
- ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
An index of top publications in Educational Studies, including some full text. Covers 1988-current. - ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The key database for educational-related literature. You may also search ERIC through the free U.S. Department of Education website. 1907 - current. An ELM Database.
ENVIRONMENT
- Environmental history (journal) byCall Number: (online)Publication Date: 1996-presentEnvironmental History is the world’s leading scholarly journal on the topic and the journal of record in the field.
- Forest History Society: Digital CollectionsThis Research Portal provides access to over 45,000 citations to published items on environmental history topics, over 30,000 historic photographs, U.S. Forest Service history materials, descriptions of nearly 8,000 archival collections from over 450 North American repositories, and much more.
4 Ways to use One Source
You can use one secondary sources (book, article) four ways!
- Go back in time: look at its footnotes and bibliography
- Forward in time: do Cited By searching
- Subjects: look for other sources with similar topics / subjects
- Methods: look for other sources that use similar methods
Cited Reference Searching in Google Scholar
"Cited By"
Works that cited a particular original work.
- Search for a topic or work in Google Scholar
- Click the "cited by" link under a relevant result
- The resulting works all cite the first work
"Related"
Works that cite many of the same sources that a particular work cites.
- Search for a topic or work in Google Scholar
- Click the "Related Articles" link under a relevant result
- The resulting works will cite one or more articles that the first work cited
Searching within a result list
-
Check the box that says, "Search within citing articles," at the top of the result list and then enter a new search.
