Reference & Context
The Oxford Handbook of American Indian History by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780199858897Publication Date: 2016
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An authoritative full text collection of the history of scholarship in several different academic subjects. Includes over 260 volumes published since 1960, including The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas, especially Volume 1: North America, Part 1 (to 1880), and Volume 1: North America, Part 2 (1885-1995). - Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is a key starting place for research in several different fields, providing bibliographies on current scholarship on topics from the social sciences and humanities. Try a keyword search for /indigenous/
Native America: A State-by-State Historical Encyclopedia by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780313381270Publication Date: 2012-03-09Includes a state by state timeline of events, notable people, and bibliography.
Indigenous Legal Histories & Treaties
- National Indian Law Library CatalogFrom the national non-profit Native American Rights fund, publications and other resources relevant to federal Indian and tribal law. Advanced Search Hint: narrow by "Type" options for: Tribal Compact, Tribal Codes, Constitutions, court cases and more.
- Indian Claims Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes historical claims presented to Congress or brought before the Court of Claims. Also includes records of the Indian Claims Commission including briefs, docket books, decisions, expert testimony, oral transcripts, and more. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Traditional legal materials (reported cases, statutes, government regulations, academic law reviews, commercially produced law journals and magazines, and classic treatises), historical, governmental, and political documents, legislative debates, legislative and executive branch reports, world constitutions, international treaties, military history, and reports and other documents of international organizations. - Territorial Papers of the United States, 1764-1953 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of pre-statehood documents including Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more. - ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
ADVANCED SEARCH: Module = American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
Fully searchable, digitized archival collections, some focusing on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries. Includes: Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians in the years from the 1850s-1890s, detailed coverage of Indian Wars, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, records about Day and Boarding Schools, and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes -- plus more.
- American Indian and Alaskan Native Documents in the Congressional Serial Set: 1817-1899From the University of Oklahoma College of Law, a curated collection of digitized materials from the U.S. Serial Set, a compilation of congressional publications, offering "detailed contemporaneous documentation of political, military, and governmental activities related to indigenous peoples of the continental United States and Alaskan territory during the 19th century. "
- Indigenous Digital Archive: Treaties ExplorerThe US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands.
- Native LandAn Indigenous-led project to outline the boundaries of Indigenous ancestral territories, languages, and Cessions in North America.
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law by Call Number: ONLINE & CC Ref KF8205 .E525 2009ISBN: 9781933116983Publication Date: 2008-12-23Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Specific Reports and Groups
- Annual report of the Board of Indian Commissioners to the Secretary of the Interior. (HathiTrust)Letters and reports concerning the Board's implementation of U.S. Policy, including allotments. Published [1870]-1933.
- Annual reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs (UWI)Published 1826-1932.
- Native American Rights Fund (NARF)NARF fights to protect Native American rights, resources, and lifeways through litigation, legal advocacy, and legal expertise.
Bureau of Land Management
- Bureau of Land ManagementThe BLM deals with mining and national parks, among other things. There's not a lot of information here, but they do have some federal land records and legislation that deals with public lands.
- Bureau of Land Management Library (Internet Archive)The BLM Library collection includes a full range of land and natural resource management publications including wildlife, vegetation, soil, air, water, geology, minerals, archaeology, energy, landscape ecology, rangeland, and others.
- NPSHistory.comAn independent website of curated primary and secondary sources about the National Park Service. Compiled by two former NPS employees. As always, use with discretion. Contains publications from the Bureau of Land Management.
- Bureau of Land Management FOIA LibrarayIncludes documents requested by FOIA, plus links to relevant portions of Land Records, GIS info, statistics, the Federal Register, Congressional testimony, and more.
Allotment Maps
- Reservations and Allotment Maps (Library of Congress)Part of: Native American Spaces: Cartographic Resources at the Library of Congress. Includes short description of Allotment Maps, 3 digitized maps, and citations for others.
- Digitized Allotment Maps (National Archives)Over 850 digitized Allotment Maps from the Department of the Interior - Office of Indian Affairs (RG 75). Select the High Resolution PDF (usually Image 2 for each item) to see full details.
- "Indian allotment map" (Library of Congress)Digitized allotment maps in the Library of Congress from a search for "Indian allotment map".
- Pine Ridge Land Information SystemThe Pine Ridge Land Information System (PRLIS) is a web-based land information system designed to assist members of the Oglala Sioux Tribe to access information about their lands and resources. Includes layers for: Parcel Layer (2010), County Plat Maps (2017), Original Allotment (1904), Bennett County Homestead Map (1910), Average Life Expectancy (2013), Historic Treaty Boundaries (1851, 1868, 1877, 1910), Range Units (2012), Badlands Bombing Range (1942), CDC Social Vulnerability Index (2014), Three Mile Buffer around major towns on Pine Ridge, and an 1862 map of the United States. Also includes links to Bureau of Land Management Patent Database.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994: Maps This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Serial Set Maps collection is a collection of more than 70,000 maps printed as part of the Congressional Serial Set. Try searching using SUBJECT = "Indian lands".
