LibKey Nomad
Remote Access
Articles and Books on International History and Culture
Useful research databases
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Absolutely the best place to find non-U.S. historians talking about culture and events. Experiment with the "Historical Period" limiter in the advanced search to find articles about a particular time in history that you're interested in. Covers publications from 1955 - present - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Main index to research in sociology, anthropology, and related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963 - current. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Covers 1975 - present. - PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Includes information about articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about international public affairs. Covers publications from 1914 - present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship. - Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Available through the Web of Knowledge. Search through current and historical literature in the social sciences, and perform cited reference searching to see who has cite a particular document. Covers 1898 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work.
Primary Sources
- Europeana This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
A large collections with artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe. Has filters for Open Licenses.
- Gallica - Bibliothèque Nationale de France
- This link opens in a new window
This is a rich digital archive of French primary sources. - Pamphlets and Periodicals of the French Revolution of 1848You may have to click through many levels, but you can see digital copies of these pamphlets and periodicals.
News Sources
- Le Monde DiplomatiqueOriginally a supplement to Le Monde, this highly respected weekly publication provides in-depth analysis of world news.
Collections of newspapers
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources. - CRL Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
A collection including foreign newspapers on microfilm, on paper, and digital. Filmed material may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications. - World News Connection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources from around the world. Covers 1995-2013.
Reference Sources
Search through hundreds of subject encyclopedias at once.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Searches the indexes of our library's print reference books. When you find an entry you'd like to read, click the "Locate this book" button or put the title of the reference book into Catalyst to find the book's location in the Reference Collection.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture by Call Number: Ref DC33.7 .E53 1998ISBN: 0415263549Publication Date: 2001-10-12Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Alphabetically arranged, with a "Classified Contents List" in front. Signed articles with lists for further reading. Coverage of francophone topics. Indexed.
Medieval France: an Encyclopedia by Call Number: Ref DC33.2 .M44 1995ISBN: 0824044444Publication Date: 1995-03-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Brief, signed articles with lists for further reading. arranged alphabetically and indexed.- The Regions of France: A Reference Guide to History and CultureCall Number: Ref DC33.7 .N63 1996Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Significant articles on each region include maps and bibliographies. Supplemented by a list of French rulers, a substantial general bibliography, and an index.
