Librarian
reference@carleton.edu
LibKey Nomad
Looking for Articles
Search these online indexes for journals featuring articles about your topic.
Usually, it's helpful to start a search experimenting with lots of different keywords about your topic. Then, narrow your search once you have learned the distinct, precise subject headings each database uses.
Bibliographic Databases
Databases, indexes and abstracts give you an organized entry point into periodical literature. Carleton does not own every journal title indexed in the electronic databases the library offers. Check Catalyst (the library's catalog) to see if we own the journal title you are looking for. If we don't, take advantage of our Interlibrary Loan Services.
Core Bibliographic Databases
Use these disciplinary indexes to literature in the field of anthropology and the broader social sciences as your core search tools. Then use the more specialized indexes in the next section to home in on more focused collections of literature.
- Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Late 19th century to present.
From the Tozzer Library at Harvard, Anthropological Literature is the major index to international periodical articles and essays in the discipline. Use the Find It button to get full text online or in print. - AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains the full-text of the journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Covers 1960 - current. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts) Articles in this collection offer comprehensive summaries of the state of research on topics from many disciplines in the sciences and social sciences. To search the Annual Review of Anthropology, type "Anthropology" in the Published In field, and select the journal title. This will ensure all results come from this publication.
International Bibliography of Anthropology by
Call Number: CC Books GN304 .I593 (newest vol. in Reference)ISBN: 0415262356Publication Date: 1998 - present (annual)Extensive coverage of books and journal articles; annual; no electronic access.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Main index to the discipline of sociology, but covers many core anthropology journals as well. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary search tool. Covers 1973 - current. - Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Available through the Web of Knowledge. Search through current and historical literature in the social sciences, and perform cited reference searching to see who has cite a particular document. Covers 1898 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work.
eHRAF
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnographies are coded according to culture group (i.e. Ojibway) and topic (i.e. childrearing); good for cross-cultural topics; much material is pre-1950; the major part of the collection is avail...
Citing a Document from eHRAF
*Citing a document from eHRAF:
| Buffalohead, Priscilla K. | ||
| 1983 | Farmers, Warriors, Traders: A Fresh Look at Ojibway Women. Minnesota History 48(6): 236-244. As seen in the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography on the Web, 3/10/09. | |
| Vecsey, Christopher | ||
| 1983 | Traditional Ojibwa Religion and its Historical Changes. Philadelphia: American Philosophical Society. As seen in the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography on the Web, 3/13/09. | |
For more help with citation style, see the SOAN Department Citation Guide or the AAA Style Guide.
Specialized Bibliographic Databases
Use specialized indexes to search more focused collections of literature. There are more options on the electronic resources page. Ask a librarian for assistance finding those most appropriate for your topic.
- Aluka: World Heritage Sites: Africa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An online digital library of scholarly resources that explores the archaeology, history and culture of Africa through its heritage sites and landscapes. - BAS: Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Scholarship (especially humanities and social sciences) about East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. 1971-current.
International African BibliographyCall Number: CC Reference DT3 .I58CC Ref DT 3 .I58 Arranged by area of descending size; 1980 to date issues have subject and ethnic group indexes.- Women's Studies Index (1989 to 2002)Call Number: REF HQ 1180 .W683Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Indexes 82 periodicals, comprehensive indexing of scholarly titles. Women Studies Abstracts (1972 to present)
Call Number: REF HQ 1111 .W65Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Arranged by broad subject; slightly more detailed subject index; some abstracts are included; popular and scholarly periodicals indexed.
