Research Guides: Anthropology: Keeping Track

LibKey Nomad

Citation Style in Anthropology

The citation style for Anthropology is the Chicago Manual of Style (CMS). It is very complex, which can be confusing, but it is also comprehensive and provides guidance on most questions. Use the online guide to the CMS for detailed help.

SOAN Department Citation Guide
A helpful guide to citation from your department's web site.

Chicago Manual of Style (18th edition) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An online version of the The Chicago Manual of Style. NOTE: The 18th Edition is new as of fall 2024. The 17th Edition is also available online. NOTE: Anthropologists use the Author-Date style

Saving, Organizing, and Formatting Citations

Handwritten notes are great (but hard to back up), and copy-pasted links are fine, but if you want something a little more searchable, re-usable, and less easily lost, here are some options for saving and organizing your research documents. Plus, these tools help automate the formatting of your citations for your paper. These are especially useful for students writing (or thinking about writing) comps.

Remember: Zotero and Endnote save a lot of time and typing, but you still need to check citations for accuracy and correct format yourself and will need to make plenty of edits by hand.

Zotero

Zotero
Save everything from online journal articles to records for books to plain old web pages. Then you can categorize them and export them as bibliographies formatted in any of the major citation styles.
Carleton's Zotero Guide
Our guide has instructions for using Zotero with lab computers and getting the most storage space possible.

EndNote

EndNote
- This link opens in a new window
Available to Carleton people, this is a fully featured bibliographic management system. Import citations from catalogs and databases or type them in by hand, embed PDFs, search, sort, export as a bibliography in any one of hundreds of citation styles, and manage long papers with Cite While You Write.
EndNote Online
- This link opens in a new window
EndNote's online version has the great advantage of being accessible from anywhere that has an internet connection and of allowing you to share folders with collaborators.
NOTE: You'll need to create your own login and password. Be sure to use your Carleton email address.

Saving What You Find Online

These tools help you keep track of your work, especially when you use multiple computers.

Evernote
- This link opens in a new window
Save entire web pages or just pieces of them, type in your own notes, search through everything, create categories, and have access from your computer, any computer, or your mobile device. Best option for saving notes and links and files in one place.
Pocket
- This link opens in a new window
Save a web page (or image or video) now and read it later, whether you're online or not. Works well an all devices. Minimal organizational strengths - use for its offline abilities and lovely distraction-free reading.
Pinboard
- This link opens in a new window
Simple and fast bookmarking tool, allows you to save and organize links to the things you find online from any browser. Ad-free, tracker-free, but not free to you.
Raindrop
- This link opens in a new window
A bookmark manager with an optional app, Raindrop captures the URL and associated content (when possible) when you bookmark. Lovely email-like interface allows you to drag and drop organize into folders and read both a distraction-free or original version. Free for most features, but small fee includes nested collections, backup to Dropbox, and more storage.
Papaly
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based bookmark tool for visual thinkers. Drag and drop your bookmarks to organize into categories, lists, and boards. Share and keep private what you choose. Good for arranging your readings into a workflow for read/unread or for how you will use resources in your research. Excellent interface but you see lots of ads.

Citing a Document from eHRAF

*Citing a document from eHRAF:

Buffalohead, Priscilla K.
1983		Farmers, Warriors, Traders: A Fresh Look at Ojibway Women. Minnesota History 48(6): 236-244. As seen in the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography on the Web, 3/10/09.
Vecsey, Christopher
1983		Traditional Ojibwa Religion and its Historical Changes. Philadelphia: American Philosophical Society. As seen in the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography on the Web, 3/13/09.